Artistic Avenger

Sparkle and Shine

2 Comments

I’ve been lurking around blogland and it seems that everyone is making wedding cards so I thought I’d better catch that train!

This summer I’ve got a couple of weddings to attend and, really, it is never to early to get started on those cards. For this card, I made it quite large – I folded one 8 1/2 x 11 Very Vanilla sheet of cardstock in half for my base.

I then layered it with Pretty In Pink and another layer of Very Vanilla. On that top layer is where I did all my embellishing.

The Sending Love Specialty Designer Series Paper will be heading away once the Occasions Mini is gone so I thought I’d better use it – plus I LOVE the sparkle. I ran a strip down the left side of the card and then added a strip of Pretty In Pink taffeta ribbon.

I cut out various shapes of pink flowers (glittery of course) from the designer paper and adhered them over each other.

I used my Boho Blossoms punch and Three for You flower punch for the top two flowers. I then added a few loops of Mellow Moss taffeta ribbon as leaves. Then I needed words but I wanted the card to stay relatively clean.

Forgetting completely that I have Vanilla Styled HodgePodge, I started with silver (wrong!). So I stamped the circular heart image from With all My Heart from the Occasions Mini in Pretty in Pink and over it the word “love” from the retired Wonderful Words (just can’t get rid of that set!) in Mellow Moss. I punched it out with the Designer Label punch and adhered in behind the hodgepodge piece.

Lastly, I thought I needed to inject a little more Mellow Moss, I tore down the upper right corner and inserted a piece of textures Mellow Moss cardstock.

I am really pleased with this card. It has just enough “stuff” while still being “classy”.

Thanks for stopping by!

Items used to make this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Very Vanilla, Mellow Moss, Pretty In Pink.

Ink: Pretty in Pink, Mellow Moss.

Stamps: With all my Heart, Wonderful words (retired).

Accessories: Pretty in Pink and Mellow Moss taffeta ribbon, Sending Love Specialty Designer Series Paper, Boho Blossoms Punch, Three for You punch, polka dot embossing folder, Sizzix Big Shot, Corner Rounder Punch, Styled Vanilla Hodge Podge Hardware, Designer Label Punch.

2 thoughts on “Sparkle and Shine

  1. Wow – This is one of those cards that the recipient doesn’t DARE throw away, and years later they come across it when browsing through their wedding box and say – WOW – again, and think of the time and effort it took for someone to have it custom made by some artist until they look at the back and find out that – WOW – it was made by the person who sent it (you do sign the backs of your cards, don’t you? I do!)

    Very cool. WOW!

  2. Hi Carrie,
    I am sending you the Sunshine Award! I always feel so good when you comment on my projects and I love to visit your blog for your bright ideas! You are so creative! Visit my blog for the award details – http://monikastamp.wordpress.com/2010/04/20/sunshine-award/
    Thanks so much for always sharing!
    Monika

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

