Artistic Avenger

One Card – Two Looks

13 Comments

Today I found the need to make a few thank you cards for some friends of ours so I headed on over to see what the gals at Stamping 411 had in store and they had a great sketch! I ran with it and came up with the card above.

It uses a few colours that I love to put together – Basic Gray, Pink Passion and Crushed Curry. Not typical but when put on a white base, it looks quite crisp.

I used a piece of Presto Patterns Designer paper from the upcoming Summer Mini catalogue and rubbed over it with Crushed Curry Classic Ink. I then added a piece of Pink Passion and backed them both on Basic Gray. To add a little more to the designer paper, I stamped the outline flowers from Awash with Flowers over top in Basic Gray ink. I added a rub on from Chat Room rub ons and tied over the seam with Basic Gray Satin Ribbon. I also added a brad from the Styled Silver Hodge Podge Hardware for a little extra “oomph”.

So I finished this one and decided that I wanted to step it up a notch and make another one so here it is!

The basic concept of this card is the same – meaning the central panel is the same. The only thing I did differently is make a ruffled ribbon and add a little scallop circle from the Birds & Blooms Sizzlet die and a button from Button Latte buttons. I also added a backing layer of Basic Gray and a layer of Whisper White, on which I stamped a few images from  Awash with Flowers in coordinating colours. Here is a close up:


Thanks so much for stopping by today!

13 thoughts on “One Card – Two Looks

  1. WOW! Very chic and GREAT color! Love them!

  2. Carrie,
    These are fabulous!!! What a great color combo I’ll be trying before some of it retires…..It works beautifully. Thanks for the inspiration and sharing your talents with us.

  3. STUNNING! I love them both 🙂 Hmmm…not much more to say than WOW!!!!!

  4. Wow Carrie! This is take my breath away gorgeous!!! You are so talented! Beautiful job!

  5. I have been a “lurker” of your blog for quite a while. I love your work and these cards are very lovely. Thanks so much for the inspiration.
    Cynthia

  6. WOW – totally AWESOME cards, Carrie! You really know how to make colors POP! Thanks for sharing!
    Kay

  7. Love how you showed the stepped up version! Beautiful cards!

  8. Carrie, they are both gorgeous!!!! I really LOVE the one with the ruffled ribbon. I am not a gray fan, but this is truly spectacular!!

  9. WOW!!! These are totally awesome Carrie!!! I love the colors together and that oh so yummy chocolate chip satin ribbon just tops them off!! Thanks for playing along with us over at the Stamping 411!!

  10. Both of your ideas are really lovely. It’s interesting seeing colors put together that I would never have thought to pair. Need to give them a try!

  11. Oh, Carrie! I love the details on both cards. Great job with the sketch. Thanks for playing along this week.

  12. Fabulous Color Combo! The first is my favorite. LOVE the simplicity of it. TFS!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

