Artistic Avenger

For our Trainer

3 Comments

We recently did a stint of training for our new dog, Ben. Our trainer, Donna, was just fantastic. She not only made sure we knew some key commands for our puppy but she also made very sure that our kids were very involved in the process. She was a treasure.

So, I thought I’d better send a special card her way and this is what I came up with.

I was inspired by the colour choices on an old Stamping 411 challenge so that is where I started. I knew I had to use the D is for Dog stamp set too so off I started!

The base is Creamy Caramel and is layered with Ruby Red and then a layer of Naturals Ivory. I stamped this layer with the paw and bone images from the stamp set in coordinating colours. However, I did stamp off each of the images first to get a lighter tone.

I then added a horizontal strip of Chocolate Chip layered with Ruby Red. I then tied over a strip of Very Vanilla 5/8″ grosgrain.

For the focal layer, I used Chocolate Chip layered with Ruby Red and then I embossed the P is for Paws wheel on More Mustard cardstock with clear embossing powder.

I then stamped the dog image in Chocolate Chip craft ink and embossed with clear embossing powder. The image is punched out with a 1 3/4″ circle punch and layered on Garden Green cardstock. To finish, I stamped the sentiment from the stamp set and layered it on Garden Green cardstock also. I added a couple of coordinating buttons for good measure and off into the mail it went!

Thanks for stopping by today! I know I do a lot of the Stamping 411 challenges – it actually feels like I’m stalking them a wee bit. But I really enjoy those ladies so much and not only their challenges on the blog; but personally. They are all awesome and supportive so I can’t say enough great things about them. Make sure if you haven’t already, head on over and check them out at Stamping 411.

3 thoughts on “For our Trainer

  1. LOVE the colours you used here, Carrie! Fab layout too!

  2. Carrie,
    You did a super unique and fabulous dog card and I especially like how you use all the dog stamps together, but yet it’s not overpowering. Thanks for sharing. A dog lover, Mary L

  3. Pingback: Tightwad Tuesday is Raining Cats and Dogs « Rogue Thoughts…Jean's Stamping Studio in the Rogue Valley

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

