Artistic Avenger

Welcome Little Lion

2 Comments

So I’ve been working a lot with my Flower Fancy stamp set as it is on for 20% off this month! I really do love 2-step stamping, it so quick and easy and looks great every time!

I wanted to use the set for something not “normal” so I decided to use the leaves as bushes in a little jungle scene for the lion from Fox & Friends.

The base of this card is So Saffron and I’ve layered the Whisper White on Close to Cocoa. On the Whisper White piece, I stamped the large leaf outline and inside in Old Olive and Certainly Celery. By using varying shades of green, you get more depth in your stamping. I also cut out a couple of leaves that I’d stamped on scrap paper and added them with dimensionals so the little lion could partially hide behind them. The lion is stamped in Close to Cocoa and cut out. I then re-stamped using So Saffron and More Mustard (with the rock and roll technique). I cut out the mane and added it on.

Lastly, I added some Old Olive 5/8″ grosgrain ribbon and a saying from Nursery Necessities which I’d stamped on a piece of More Mustard and punched out with the Modern Label punch. I’m really enjoying clean stamping with lots of white space right now. I think it’s because I’ve been working on Artisan Award projects and they are pretty full of details and I’m really looking at doing some more straightforward and simple stamping (side note: my box of projects was received at the home office so now we wait!).

This will be one of the cards that my guests will make at the upcoming Doin’ the 2-Step class on April 21st.

Thanks for stopping by!

Products used on this project – CLICK HERE to buy them now!

Cardstock: So Saffron, Close to Cocoa, Whisper White, More Mustard.

Ink: So Saffron, More Mustard, Close to Cocoa, Old Olive, Certainly Celery.

Stamps: Fox & Friends, Flower Fancy, Nursery Necessities.

Accessories: corner rounder punch, 5/8″ Old Olive grosgrain, Modern Label punch.

2 thoughts on “Welcome Little Lion

  1. Hi Carrie, I just discovered your blog today and I LOVE it! I luv your style. Your work is gorgeous. You are now on my Google Reader list so I will be inspired by your amazing creations every time you post. Thanks for the wonderful eye candy!

    From Loni in sunny California!

  2. Super cute!
    Monika Davis
    monikastamp.wordpress.com

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

