Artistic Avenger

Takin’ the Dust Off

2 Comments

Today I thought I’d use a couple of products that I just HAD to have but haven’t used to the full potential yet: Decor Stencils and Brass Emobssing Templates.

The thought behind this card was to use a Christmas colour combo but not make a Christmas card.

I started with an Always Artichoke card base and made a layer of Bravo Burgundy on which I layered Very Vanilla.

On the Very Vanilla piece, I stamped the large square stamp from Fresh Cuts in stamped off Close to Cocoa and I also wheeled the Baroque border Stampin’ Around wheel in Mellow Moss (this is very hard to see!). I also sponged the edges a lot with Close to Cocoa ink.

Next, I used the Elegant Trio Decor Stencil and particularly the Fleur de Lis. I sponged it first in Close to Cocoa, then moved it to one side slightly and darkened it with Chocolate Chip. Then, I moved it to the other side slightly and added some White gel pen accents.

To add a little more depth, I then stamped the fleur de lis from Extreme Elements with Jet Black StazOn onto a window sheet and punched it out with my 1 1/4″ circle punch. I adhered it with a glue dot and then added a clear rhinestone which I took out of the brad casing. I then used the Punches Plus brass template (which matches all the punch shapes) and pierced a circle around the window sheet circle.

I wanted a little more depth so I added a strip of 5/8″ Bravo Burgundy grosgrain and stamped a staying from Heard from the Heart in Close to Cocoa ink.

So, one more layer to go! I ran a piece of Mellow Moss through my Sizzix Big Shot and the scallop square die. I then put it through the Big Shot again with my Perfect Polka Dots Impressions Folder and sponged the finished dotted shape.

Okay, think that’s it!

Products used on this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Mellow Moss, Always Artichoke, Very Vanilla, Bravo Burgundy.

Ink: Close to Cocoa, Mellow Moss, Chocolate Chip.

Stamps: Heard from the Heart, Extreme Elements, Fresh Cuts.

Accessories: Elegant Trio Decor Stencils, Clear Rhinestone Brads, Stampin’ Sponges, Window Sheets, 1 1/4″ circle punch, 5/8″ Bravo Burgundy Grosgrain, Sizzix Big Shot, Scallop Square die, Perfect Polka Dots Impressions Folder.

2 thoughts on “Takin’ the Dust Off

  1. I love your card Carrie…I was just thinking of doing a stencils class…so thanks for a great sample. Did you layer the scallop square with dimensionals in between the bravo burgundy and vanilla cs?

  2. So creative! Love your work!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

