Artistic Avenger

A Bright Little Birdie

2 Comments

I recently received a home store flyer and they had a cute little pillow in it which had a tropical bird. So, I decided to try it out on a card. Yes, it is pretty bright and busy but it was super fun using punches and varying them slightly.

The base is Tempting Turquoise and it is layered with Whisper White and then Green Galore. To make the flowers I used Real Red, Summer Sun, and Elegant Eggplant. I used the following punches but cut them slightly to vary the shape:

  • Fancy Flower Punch
  • 5-petal Flower Punch
  • Boho Blossoms Punch
  • Three for You Flower Punch

For the swirls, I used the Swirl Sizzlet and both Elegant Eggplant and Bermuda Bay cardstock.

For the bird, I used the XL 2-Step Bird punch in coordinating colours. I cut out and layered various colours and used my white gel pen for accents.

To finish it all off (like it really needed anything else), I used a Chat Room rub on and my Fifth Avenue Floral set for the sentiment and it is adhered between two loops of Real Red polka dot grosgrain ribbon.

Products used on this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Real Red, Summer Sun, Elegant Eggplant, Green Galore, Bermuda Bay, Tempting Turquoise, Whisper White.

Ink: Summer Sun.

Stamps: Fifth Avenue Floral.

Accessories: 5-Petal Flower Punch, Fancy Flower Punch, Boho Blossoms Punch, Three for You Flower punch, 1 1/4″ & 1 3/8″ circle punches, Real Red polka dot grosgrain, 2-step Bird punch, vintage brads, Chat Room Rub ons, white gel pen, horizontal slot punch, 1/2″ circle punch, swirl sizzlet, Sizzix Big Shot.

2 thoughts on “A Bright Little Birdie

  1. I love this tropical bird! So cute and clever!

  2. Loving the card, the colored birdie has so much character! Great job once again!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

