Artistic Avenger

Can Vintage be Masculine?

11 Comments

I’ve found a spare minute to make something to post! WOW! Between Sale-A-Bration workshops and classes and other creative journey’s, I’m super excited to share this card with you.

The colour combo for this card is Chocolate Chip, Tempting Turquoise, Very Vanilla and Ruby Red. Not your typical colour combo and certainly not one I’d think of as vintage, but I think it works for a masculine card.

I was inspired by the Stamping 411 sketch for this week and knew I wanted to give a try to making a masculine vintage card (not sure that even really exists, but I’m trying!).

I used my Very Vintage wheel on some white tissue paper and embossed it with black embossing powder. I then crumpled and adhered it to some Very Vanilla cardstock using an Anywhere Glue Stick. This just gives the imaging some great texture and the vanilla shows through the tissue very nicely.

I layered this on a piece of Tempting Turquoise on which I’d paper pierced down the sides and roughed up the edges. I then adhered this to a piece of Vellum cardstock. Again, just for extra texture and dimension.

Before adhering this to the card, I stamped the large floral stamp from Elements of Style (coming soon in the Summer Mini!) in Basic Black on the Chocolate chip base.

For the finishing touches, I looped a piece of 5/8″ Chocolate Chip grosgrain and added a tag to the centre. The Chocolate Chip tag is cut with my Sizzix Big Shot and the Lots of Tags sizzlets. Layered on that is a Ruby Red Modern Label punch and onto that I added a Word Window in Very Vanilla. On that I rubbed on “forever” from the Chat Room Rub Ons. I then added a couple of Tempting Turquoise brads.

I really enjoyed making this card and think I’ve made headway on making vintage masculine!

Oh, side note – I’ve noticed a lot of hits on my Artisan Award projects from last year. Thank you for looking! I wish all demonstrators who will be participating this year the best of luck and the most original creativity you can muster. I promise I’ll be posting a little more frequently once my projects are in the mail (by week’s end – wahoo, ahead of schedule!).

11 thoughts on “Can Vintage be Masculine?

  1. What a great masculine card Carrie…I love it. Great idea with the wheel for this.

  2. Love this card! I never really thought of masculine and vintage together, but you did it!

  3. Ok, I am cracking up because I saw this on Stampin’ Connection last night and saved it to my favs without realizing that it was for 411!
    This is a GREAT card Carrie! I love what you did with the ribbon -can’t wait to try that!
    You did a fabulous job here!

  4. Why yes it can!!! Look at how gorgeous this is! I’m loving it!

  5. Love your card…all the details are fabulous!

  6. You did a great job with the sketch, and the masculine vintage look!!! I love the way you used your ribbon, and all of the layering, SO pretty!

  7. Wow, the wheeled tissue paper looks awesome!

  8. I love the wheeled tissue paper. I can’t wait to try this technique. Thanks for the inspiration!

  9. Just beautiful, Carrie — Great job with this week’s sketch challenge! Thanks so much for playing along with the Stamping 411 Operators! Blessings, Gretchen

  10. WOW WOW WOW what a wonderful jaw dropping card!!!! I soooo love this card and would love to see it show up in an upcoming swap (Godivas)!!!!! Thanks for playing along this week with us over at Stamping 411!!! We love seeing everyone play along!!

  11. No.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

