Artistic Avenger

A Few Paralymic Memories

3 Comments

Well folks, I’ve just wiped the last of the tears away after watching the Paralympic closing ceremonies from Whistler. I didn’t think I’d get so emotional at the end of these games but with working in the athlete’s village, I have felt a real connection to the athletes of these games. Also, our family partook in so many more events during the Paralympics so I’m sure that had something to do with it too.

I thought I’d take a few minutes to share some of my memories with you all….

This photo was taken outside the bus entrance to the Vancouver Paralympic Village (where the athletes for sledge hockey and wheelchair curling lived). It was my first day and I was so excited by pretty much anything I saw!

This was taken inside the village – look at those Canadian flags – that is where the Canadian team was staying! Each country would hang their flags on their balconies, it looked so cool!

I took an extra volunteer shift to work the Opening Ceremonies – and this was my vantage point! Here is team Canada entering the building.

Here is my dear hubby up at Whistler trying out a sit ski while we watched some slalom racing.

I have so many photos that it would take a week of posts to get them all up to view! I’ll probably put up a few more……

3 thoughts on “A Few Paralymic Memories

  1. I live in Surrey, and although I wasn’t able to volunteer, my family attended a couple of Olympic events. I don’t think there’s ever been a time in my life I’ve been so proud to be Canadian, and excited to be living where I do! There were so many wonderful things about the Olympics, and the way the Paralympic games and athletes were embraced speaks volumes about what it means to be Canadian! I look forward to seeing more of your photos!

  2. Thanks for sharing your photos with us. And it will be nice to have you back home, posting! 🙂

  3. I am so glad to see some pictures of the Paralympic Games!
    I wish they would have covered the games like they did for the rest of it. I watched the wonderful opening ceremonies. I was wowed by it.
    Would love to see more pictures of the events if you have any!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

