Artistic Avenger

I’m MIA because…

9 Comments

I’m a Paralympic Volunteer! Last week I started my shifts at the Paralympic Athlete’s Village (behind me in the photo) here in Vancouver and it has been amazing. The Opening Ceremonies for the games is this Friday and then the fun begins. My family is heading up to Whistler this weekend to watch the Super G ski event and take in the village and sights of the Paralympics up on the mountain and then it is back to working for me!

I’ll be doing all sorts of shifts ranging from early morning to very late at night (I’ve had to get up at 4:30 am every day this week so far!).

So, if you see very few posts over the next few weeks, I apologize but this is an opportunity I’ve been so excited about and I’m enjoying every second. I’ll most likely try to post a few things from different venues if I can but it is highly unlikely that I’ll get any time to do any crafting for a bit.

Have a great March and I hope you’ll keep coming back to see what I’m up to!

9 thoughts on “I’m MIA because…

  1. How cool…hope you find a few moments to blog about your time there!

  2. Very cool. Enjoy!

  3. That is so exciting Carrie…how lucky you are to be able to take part in this event. Your ink won’t dry up while you are away.

  4. That IS a wonderful opportunity!!! Enjoy!

    Kym

  5. I can’t wait to hear about all your experiences! Savour every minute; it will go by SO fast. Have fun! You can sleep afterwards… 🙂
    In the Super G, look for my friend Laurie’s son Matt Hallat. He’s hoping to medal in alpine events for Canada!

  6. Have a great time!

  7. Wow that is so cool Carrie…maybe you will meet my friend’s son, Derek Whitson from Chatham. He is a sledge hockey player. We are so proud of him!!!!

  8. ENJOY! Thanks for being a volunteer. The Olympics couldn’t have been what they were without them, and I know the Paraolympics will be equally amazing because of the volunteers. Can’t wait to see all your scrapbooking about the games! I think the whole lower mainland is in Disneyland though, with their CANADA gear! It’s EVERYWHERE here right now.

  9. Have an amazing time and I can’t wait to hear some stories about them! What an incredible opportunity!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

