Artistic Avenger

I ain’t Lion….

19 Comments

Today I was chatting with a friend on the phone and found out that he hasn’t been stamping lately. So, I challenged him to two challenges. First, the Stamping 411 sketch challenge and second the Pals Paper Arts KISS challenge.

I started with a Close to Cocoa card base and layered it with a wee strip of More Mustard and then a larger layer of Whisper White. I used my scallop edge punch on one end of the Whisper White cardstock and then used my Close to Cocoa marker to define the scallops a bit. Lastly, I tied a bit of Old Olive 5/8″ grosgrain around the white layer.

For the little lion, well, I’ve had this idea for a while now. The Birds and Blooms Sizzlet little scallop circle is just the perfect size to fit to make a layered mane on the little lion from Fox & Friends. So what I did was stamp the lion in Close to Cocoa once on the larger white cardstock layer and once on some scrap cardstock.

I cut out a More Mustard and a So Saffron small scallop circle from the Birds & Blooms sizzlet and crinkled them up a little bit for a bit more dimension. I added them on with mini glue dots. I then cut out the face of the lion I’d stamped on some scrap cardstock and adhered with a small dimensional.

To finish this up, I stamped “hello” from Hello Again in Old Olive and added some outline with my Close to Cocoa marker and some grass with my Old Olive marker.

Thanks for stopping in today! Now get off the computer and stamp something….:-)

19 thoughts on “I ain’t Lion….

  1. I love all the little details! So very cool!

  2. The way you added dimension to the lion is so cute! Love it!

  3. Super Cute Carrie. I needed an idea for club Friday, I may just have to case you 🙂

  4. Seriously Super!

  5. Super cute! I love that mane!

  6. Cute! You are such a genius…..using the die cut as the lion’s mane. Love your pen work on each of the scallops too!

  7. How stinkin’ cute is this?!! Love it Carrie – what a brilliant idea for his mane. Just adorable!
    Thanks for playing along again with the 411!

  8. Stroke of genius in creating that mane! So adorable all the way around! Thanks for playing @PPA!

  9. I love this, smarty creative one!

  10. Clever, clever, clever! And such a cute card!

  11. Great simple, beautiful card! And yes, get Greg stamping again – his blog is stagnant and I keep watching for an update!!!

  12. Carrie, this is SO precious. I love your work! Thanks for playing along with Stamping 411 this week!

  13. This is so clean cand crisp and fresh…I just love the look of it. I don’t think I could think of one thing to improve on this fabulous card. I’m so glad you played along and shared with all of us.

  14. I just love this guy and have saved it for my favourites. I would love to use the idea at a class. I hope that is ok with you.
    Cynthia

  15. Is this not the cutest little lion ever!!??!! Too stinkin’ cute and your card is just AWESOME!! Great job!! Thanks for playing along with us over at the Stamping 411 Blog this week!!

  16. what a gorgeous card & adorable wee lion

  17. Love what you did with the lion. Cute card.

  18. Pingback: Walkin' in High Cotton » Wednesday Windings 5/12/2010

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

