Artistic Avenger

On being challenged…..

8 Comments

I love challenges but rarely does a challenge come with bits and pieces!

Linda, one of my dear downline, arrived at my place just before Christmas with a challenge for me. In an envelope she had a Box #2 cut out of Groom Specialty Paper, another piece of Groom Paper, a piece of Brushed Silver cardstock, one silver Build-A-Brad, three small clear Rhinestone Brads and a piece of striped taffeta ribbon.

My challenge was to make something using everything in the envelope. I could add things, just not neglect to use something.

I had on my list of things to do the Stamping 411 sketch this week so I tried to incorporate the two together.

The box itself was decorated prior to being put together – remember, this is really key when making a 3D project, decorate first!

I cut a piece of the Brushed Silver cardstock on an angle and paper pierced on the outer edge. I then added the three Rhinestone brads to the lower left.

For the focal piece, I stamped the two small flowers from Tiny Tags (LOVE THIS SET – and stay tuned for my next post…it’s a doozy!). I stamped it in Going Gray ink and then added the Build-A-Brad in the centre. In the brad is the small flower from Together Forever stamped in Basic Black. The saying is stamped in Basic Black and is also from Tiny Tags. Behind that piece an only on the bottom, I added a half of a scallop square in Groom paper.

After all that decorating was done, I completed assembling the box using Sticky Strip and tied the ribbon around the lid of the box.

Linda, thank you SO MUCH for the challenge, I am thrilled with this project and now I think I need to purchase that die…..oh my!

Products used on this project:

Cardstock: Brushed Silver, Whisper White, Groom.

Ink: Going Gray, Basic Black.

Stamps: Together Forever, Tiny Tags.

Accessories: Box #2 die, White Taffeta Ribbon, Scallop Square punch, 1/2″ circle punch, Build-A-Brad, Clear Rhinestone Brads, paper piercer, mat pack.

8 thoughts on “On being challenged…..

  1. You totally rocked this challenge Carrie – love what you did with your supply challenge and how cool to incorporate the 411 sketch too!
    Thanks for playing along this week!

  2. That is the best, awesome build a brad.

  3. I’m a big fan Carrie! I love what you did here, and this paper is stunning! Great job!!!

  4. That’s super cute! I knew you’d come up with something special!
    p.s. you can use my die anytime!

  5. This looks gorgeous! Love that flower in the brad!

  6. What a fun interpretation for this sketch. I love it. Great idea!

  7. Carrie, you rocked this sketch!! That Build-a-Brad took my breath away. Awesome project!!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

