Artistic Avenger

Slow and Steady

1 Comment

First off, do you like the festive snow I’ve got falling on my blog? Cute, huh?

I really love the Nature’s Nest stamp set but sometimes have a hard time using it. When Pals Paper Arts posted their challenge was a colour one, I knew these colours suited this particular image just perfectly!

The base of this card is Crushed Curry and it’s layered with Soft Suede and then Old Olive. I cut out a bunch of leaves from the Sizzlet Little Leaves and adhered them to the the olive layer for a textured leafy effect. I then ran my ink pad lightly over it to highlight them a little more.

I added a diagonal strip of Soft Suede cardstock and over it I adhered a strip of Crushed Curry Polka Dotted ribbon. I tacked it down with three Antique Brass brads.

Now for the turtle. I stamped him in Jet Black StazOn on watercolour paper and used my Old Olive, Soft Suede and Crushed Curry markers and my aquapainter to colour him in. I added a Sahara Sand shadow underneath him and then layered this piece on Soft Suede.

Lastly, I needed a sentiment….I used the circular image from WOW Flowers and used my Soft Suede marker as to omit the centre flower. I stamped it on Crushed Curry cardstock and punched it out with my 1 1/4″ circle punch. I then cut it in half (well a little bigger) and adhered it to the card. To the centre I used a Jumbo Antique Brass Eyelet (put in with my Crop-A-Dile) and tied a little bit of Crushed Curry ribbon to top it off.

Great challenge, Thanks!

Products used to make this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Old Olive, Crushed Curry, Soft Suede, watercolour paper.

Ink: Jet Black StazOn, Old Olive, Sahara Sand.

Stamps: Natures Nest, WOW Flowers.

Accessories: Stampin’ Write Markers, Aquapainter, Sizzix Big Shot, Little Leaves Sizzlet, Vintage Brads, Crushed Curry Polka Dot Ribbon, Crop-A-Dile, 1 1/4″ circle punch, Jumbo Eyelets.

One thought on “Slow and Steady

  1. What a great image! Wonderful texture and design – thanks for playing @PPA!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

