Artistic Avenger

Super Saw!

20 Comments

IMG_7011

Sorry – sometimes I just can’t think of a title!

This is going to be the last post for about a week as I have officially packed up my craft room (except for the goodies I need for the 4 classes I’m teaching this week!). I just had to squeak one more project in!

The colour combination for this project was inspired by the Pals Paper Arts challenge this week and the sketch from Stamping 411.

The set Totally Tool was one of those that I really wanted and got it and then have a hard time using. However, when I saw this colour combo, I was drawn to this particular set.

The base of the card is Taken with Teal and all the layers are matted with Basic Gray. The layer in the furthest background is Whisper White and on it I stamped the various tools from the stamp set in coordinating colours. Oh, this is a good tip! If you want matching designer paper to suit a project, use coordinating images and colours and make your own.

The next closest layer is a piece of Nouveau Chic designer paper. I added two star brads from the Styled Silver HodgePodge Hardware on the outer corners and then adhered over the back layer with a couple of dimensionals.

Then, for the piece in the foreground. I knew I wanted to try using tin foil to make the saw blade so that part was easy. I embossed the saw on the tin foil and cut it out. I then embossed the saw again on some Ruby Red and cut it out and paper pierced it onto the foil.

For a “sawed” up look, I cut a piece of Taken with Teal cardstock in a jagged pattern and sponged it with some Basic Gray ink. I then added it onto some Whisper White cardstock with dimensionals and placed the saw.

IMG_7012

Lastly, I had a hard time deciding what to do for a saying, then I just decided to stamp the saying with the saw stamp a few times on various scrap pieces and cut it out. All the pieces are affixed with dimensionals.

I sat and looked at this card for a while thinking it needed something else. I took my Black Stampin’ Write marker and ran it along the outer edges and on the Whisper White layer. Not sure if I like it (too late now) but I’ll go with it.

So, I hope to still possibly post but I’ll highlight some great blogs of friends and gals from my downline!

20 thoughts on “Super Saw!

  1. Wonderful card, Carrie! Great stamp choices for this color combo! Love the foil on the saw blade! Great job with the color challenge!

  2. What a clever idea with the saw and jagged paper below it.

  3. This is fabulous! I love how you used the saw, and separated so many of the parts! Fantastic! Great combination of the two challenges.

  4. This is so cool with the foil on the blade. What a great man card. Thanks for playing along.

  5. A GREAT masculine card! Gotta case this one. My sons have done more than they should ever be expected to around my new house and your card is perfect for a little thank you.

  6. Great card – like the hardware and the foil!

  7. Cute!! Layout is awesome…

  8. Carrie ~ I have to say, I always get excited when I see your name on the “play” list. You never disappoint! This is another gorgeous creation. Clean, simple, modern and just darn cool. Beautiful work!

  9. I Came I Sawed I Did!!! (title) and I like the outline with the marker I thought it was a cool idea – reminds me of a draft for carpenters.

  10. Hi Carrie — this is just darling! Love the hardware — the perfect added touch! Great job with the sketch and thanks for playing along with this week’s challenge! Blessings, Gretchen

  11. Your creations are SO COOL! I’m so glad I’ve found your blog. xx

  12. Great use of the colors! You can always use a masculine card!

  13. Great card-I’m so glad you shared it so I can case it. I, too, had to have this set and then rarely find ways to use it.
    Thanks for the tip on the saw blade on tin foil. What a great idea!

  14. Thank you for playing @ PPA!

    We look forward to you joining our next challenge on Thursday, November 12.

    Be sure to check back to see our Paper Artist Picks on Wednesday, November 11, too!

  15. Love how you sawed the cardstock……LOL!!! Great guy card!!!

  16. Fantastic card! Congrats on being the Paper Pals Artist Picj this week!

  17. Just amazing!!! Love that saw and the sawing on your card!! Thanks for playing along with us this week over at Stamping 411!!

  18. This is GREAT! I LOVE it. Thanks for playing along this week!

  19. Love your blog, I had so much fun tonight at your workshop learning a new technique. You are very talented.

  20. Congrats on being chosen for the Stampers Showcase!! How cool is that?! One card winning two challenges!!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

