Artistic Avenger

Festive Lamp Post

22 Comments

IMG_7008

You may notice over the next couple of weeks that my posts are sporadic – we are in the process of moving. We are moving just a few minutes away from where we are now so we won’t have to move the kids school or any activities (whew!). In the new house, I get a great office space and with a huge rec room downstairs, there is even more room for seating at classes!

So, with knowing that I’ve got fewer posts coming, I figured I’d better make them “quality” ones!

Many of you enjoyed the last two punch cards I did (Scrooge and Nutcracker) so I thought I’d continue on that theme and come up with something else. This one was inspired by a card I received last year.

I used this week’s Mojo Monday sketch as my starting point (although the final product looks very different!) and the Colour Challenge on SCS.

The base of the card is Kraft. I stamped the snowflakes from Christmas Punch in Sahara Sand all over the base. I then used some Basic Black cardstock and layered it with Naturals Ivory.

On the large piece, I stamped the tall pine from Lovely as a Tree randomly in Going Gray ink. I wanted it to look like a soft background. Then I moved onto the lamp post.

I started with the light part. I  used my two tag punches (large and small). I punched the large in Basic Gray and the small in Whisper White. I then cut out on an angle from the top of the tag to the outer edge giving it a widening effect (wow, there is no way to better describe that – I’ll take a photo). On the white one, I sponged So Saffron ink to emulate light. For the top, I used my scallop square punch, cut it out, sponged it with Basic Gray ink and added some Vintage Brads.

I used my little leaves die with my Sizzix Big Shot and some Always Artichoke cardstock for some leaves and then my small oval punch with the 1/2″ circle punch to make the holly leaves (in Old Olive). The small holly berries are from the larger punch on my Crop-A-Dile and the bird is from the Merry Details sizzlet.

IMG_7009

White taffeta ribbon just seemed like a perfect addition and I added a piece tied into a bow and then fanned out the ends using mini glue dots to tack it down in various places.

Using my Teeny Tiny Wishes stamp set, I stamped Merry Christmas in Basic Gray ink on Basic Gray paper and then punched it out with my Modern Label Punch. My goal was to have this look like a sign coming off the side of the post.

I figured I’d gone so far past the sketch that I’d reign myself back in and I paper pierced along the side as per the sketch.

Thanks for stopping in and I hope you’ll continue to stay with me even though I may be away a bit……

Products used to make this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Card stock: Kraft, Naturals Ivory, Basic Black, Whisper White, Basic Gray, Real Red, Old Olive, Always Artichoke.

Ink: So Saffron, Going Gray, Sahara Sand, Basic Gray.

Stamps: Lovely as a Tree, Christmas Punch, Teeny Tiny Wishes.

Accessories: White taffeta ribbon, large tag punch, small tag punch, scallop square punch, small oval punch, Modern Label punch, Crop-A-Dile, Sizzix Big Shot, little leaves sizzlet, Merry Details sizzlet, Vintage brads, stampin sponges, paper piercer, mat pack, mini glue dots.

22 thoughts on “Festive Lamp Post

  1. Way to GO!!! What a super fantastic card! and you described your steps and products used so well! I really appreciate all you did for this card. Good luck on your move! and Congratulations on your new SPACE! We should all be so lucky.

  2. I LOVE this! You are so creative! See, I just feed off of others’ ideas rather than come up with my own … like this one. I’ll be using it, I’m sure. 😉 Happy moving!!

  3. I absolutley Love this! It’s Fantastic!

  4. The lamp post is just fabulous, fabulous my darling! Keep them coming.

  5. Wow! This is amazing. Makes me want to jump up from my computer and try to recreate it. Thanks for sharing this with us!

  6. Seriously? This is SOOOOO cute! And better yet – I have everything to make this, too! Will I? Don’t know, but I’m hopeful. TFS!

  7. Your card is fabulous. The lamp post stands is fantastic. You are so creative. Thanks for the inspiration.

  8. OMG!! LOVE. LOVE. LOVE!!! SO AWESOME!
    You are UBER talented!!

  9. it’s so nice to see a card made with some ingenuity and a little stamping. it’s a good challenge for the brain to do something different! kudos–this is fantastic!

  10. How can you be so calm, and creative, continue to hold classes AND move at the same time?

    AMAZING!

  11. this is so very adorable, luv the details…… I am offering blog candy, stop by for a visit!

    enjoy *~*

  12. This card is just fabulous! I totally love the lamp post!

  13. Love, love, love this one! Made me think of Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe. Perfect invite for a winter movie party night featuring that movie. Thanks for sharing and good luck on the move!

  14. Amazing! You are so talented!!

  15. I absouletly love this card!!! Such a great idea. Creative genius on your part. The birdie sure does add an adorable charm to the card.

  16. Pingback: My Blog Picks and Posts from Here and There Around the Web #15 « Rogue Thoughts…Jean's Stamping Studio in the Rogue Valley

  17. Pingback: My Blog Picks and Posts from Here and There Around the Web #15 « Rogue Thoughts…Jean's Stamping Studio in the Rogue Valley

  18. This is just fabulous! One of my very favorite punch cards. Thanks for sharing it!!!

  19. Connie, You are Sooooo talented and inspired! What a terrific card!!! You’ve done it again, I must go and try this right now!!!

  20. Wow…that was harder than I thought. But I love it! You are so clever.

  21. My brain is just not functioning. I can’t picture how you punched and cut the light. You mentioned something your post about a picture but could not find it.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

