Artistic Avenger

Three Wise Men

7 Comments

IMG_6993

Today I was making a bunch of Halloween treats for the office staff at my kid’s school (photo coming soon) and while I was doing that a couple of pieces of cardstock fell in an interesting position and I saw Wise Men! Funny, I know but I did!

You’ll never guess what I was using – the Leaves #2 die! I was making ghosts using the die as I’d done on a previous project and a couple of the ends of another leaf overlapped each other and looked like a perfect silhouette of the Wise Men. So, off I ran to drag my husband in to look at how fantastic a new idea this is and then back up to my craft room!

This card’s layout was inspired by the Mojo Monday Sketch this week – I loved it! I wanted to use jewel tones on this card as well…so here goes!

The base is Creamy Caramel (to emulate sand) and the central focal piece is layered with Elegant Eggplant and Night of Navy. I cut some Creamy Caramel cardstock free hand and sponged the edges to make sand dunes and adhered them to a piece of Whisper White cardstock.

For the Wise Men themselves, I used the Sizzix Big Shot and the Leaves #2 die (the end of the long and skinny leaf). I used Taken with Teal, Elegant Eggplant and Old Olive. I also made arms using my oval punches in coordinating colours.

IMG_6994

I had a really hard time trying to figure out how to add a star to this card. Everything I did just didn’t seem right and, on this particular project, I wanted the Wise Men to be the focal piece. So, I used the Punches Plus dry emboss template and paper pierced the star in behind the Wise Men layer, and then added a small star punched out of Crushed Curry card stock.

Lastly, I layered some Old Olive designer paper (retired) on a piece of Night of Navy cardstock. I then added a large bow using 5/8″ Old Olive grosgrain.

I wanted to add a sentiment on the front but, again, just couldn’t get one to work for me – so I added the sentiment “joy expressed, love shared, a miracle celebrated” from Many Merry Messages to the inside.

Hope you like it! Remember, play with your Sizzix Dies – you never know what you’ll come up with!

Products used on this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Card stock: Crushed Curry, Creamy Caramel, Elegant Eggplant, Night of Navy, Old Olive, Whisper White.

Ink: Creamy Caramel.

Stamps: Many Merry Messages.

Accessories: Sizzix Big Shot, Leaves #2 die, 5/8″ Old Olive grosgrain, small star punch, Punches Plus dry emboss template, paper piercing tool.

7 thoughts on “Three Wise Men

  1. This is too neat and so cute! Love the colours. Great idea!

  2. So cute and so inventive!! But I expect nothing less from you! 🙂 It was an amazing 6 months on the Caardvarks term with you! Thank you for bringing so much creativity and inspiration! It was truly an honor for me to work alongside you! XO!

  3. Now THAT is creativity!! You go girl!

  4. Amazing – great design yet again!

  5. Wow! These are jaw-dropping! I love these stylized wisement. You are so amazing!!! Thanks for sharing.

  6. Pingback: My Blog Picks and Posts from Here and There Around the Web #14 « Rogue Thoughts…Jean's Stamping Studio in the Rogue Valley

  7. Pingback: My Blog Picks and Posts from Here and There Around the Web #14 « Rogue Thoughts…Jean's Stamping Studio in the Rogue Valley

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

