Artistic Avenger

Fabulous Feather

2 Comments

IMG_6973

I always have a few colour combinations hanging out on my desk ready to use at any given time. A couple of weeks ago I wore an outfit with Chocolate Chip, Basic Gray, Tempting Turquoise and Green Galore. Maybe not a typical clothing combo but I knew I had to incorporate it into a card. So, on the edge of my desk it sat until I felt the urge to use it.

Recently, I received a few free stamp sets from SU (thanks!) and one was Nature’s Nest. I was inspired by it because it is not my “normal” type stamp set and I could see so many uses – from adults to children and I love to watercolour. So this is my first attempt with this set.

The MOJO Monday sketch this week was my second starting point after the colour combo. Yes, I turned it on it’s side but with a long and narrow feather, it just worked better.

The base of this card is Basic Gray. I wanted a piece of designer paper that was turquoise and chocolate – didn’t have one. So I took a piece of Chocolate Chip designer paper and brayered over it with my Tempting Turquoise ink and my brayer – perfect! I then matted this on Chocolate Chip.

The long and skinny strip is Green Galore matted on Chocolate Chip.

Then for the feather piece. I stamped it in Versamark on Whisper White cardstock and embossed it. I then took coordinating colours and a Blender Pen and went to work. I used Tempting Turquoise, Green Galore and Gable Green. I mixed all the colours together to give a great look to this leaf.

IMG_6974

I added a punched out Modern Label in textured Chocolate Chip cardstock and a Turquoise brad in one corner and rolled the edge of the other.

Lastly, I added a small sentiment. I first used a stamp from Define Your Life for the background and then stamped “kind” from Baroque Motifs. I punched it out with the small oval punch and matted it with a large chocolate oval.

Thanks for stopping in!

Products used on this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Card Stock: Basic Gray, Chocolate Chip, Green Galore, Whisper White.

Ink: Versamark, Green Galore, Gable Green, Tempting Turquoise.

Stamps: Baroque Motifs, Define Your Life, Nature’s Nest.

Accessories: small oval punch, large oval punch, Blender Pen, Chocolate Chip Designer Series Paper, Modern Label Punch, Bold Brights Brads, black embossing powder, heat tool.

2 thoughts on “Fabulous Feather

  1. I am so glad I found your site through Mojo … your work is absolutely amazing! Thank you so much for sharing!

  2. Wow! Great card! Love how that color combo is working for you. I love bold color combos in clothing. Who knew it would work so well together on paper? Love it and all your creations. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

