Artistic Avenger

Live, Laugh & Love

4 Comments

IMG_6964

I have a dear friend’s birthday celebration this long weekend and I’m super excited about it – so I had to make a great card to go with it!

I had this colour combo sitting on my desk for a while and wanted to use it on something special so I decided to jump in and, although a fairly masculine colour combo, I decided to make it feminine.

The layout for this card was inspired by this week’s Mojo Monday sketch.

The base is a piece of Night of Navy cardstock. I decided to make a “flat back” card and have the folding part smaller and mounted on a flat sheet. This folded part is Crushed Curry.

The smaller pieces on the front are Bashful Blue designer series paper and they are matted in Old Olive. The sketch called for them to be up and down but my son bumped my arm and then went askew and I decided that I liked it better! (thanks Owen!).

A strip of Night of Navy was placed along the card and it is layered with some 5/8″ Old Olive grosgrain.

For the circular centre, I used my circle scissor cutter and made a Night of Navy circle  and a Whisper White circle. I used a stamp from On Your Birthday and inked it up with markers.

I used the Trio Flower punch and some Old Olive brads to “girl” it up a bit. REMEMBER – you can get this punch for only $15.99 for a few more days! Click on the Deals of the Week button to the left.

IMG_6966

Okay, back to the sketch – I decided not to add the circular embellishments as per the sketch so I paper pierced in place of the dots.

Thanks for stopping by!

Products used on this project – CLICK HERE to purchase them NOW!

Card stock: Crushed Curry, Night of Navy, Whisper White, Old Olive.

Ink: Old Olive and Night of Navy Stampin’ write markers.

Stamps: On Your Birthday.

Accessories: Circle Scissor Cutter, Bashful Blue Designer Series Paper, 5/8″ Old Olive grosgrain, Trio Flower punch, Earth Elements brads, Mini Glue Dots.

4 thoughts on “Live, Laugh & Love

  1. love this card and your “off-kilter” squares 😀

    great color choices, and awesome job at making them work for a girl!

  2. This is just fabulous! I love your skewed panels and piercing details. Gorgeous card.

  3. very cute Carrie. Congrats on the Mojo Win!

  4. wow – great card! Such vibrant colors with great little touches 🙂 Congrats on being named one of the Mojo Monday winners!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

