Artistic Avenger

Building a Bear

13 Comments

IMG_6942

I am getting back into my regular “groove” and starting again with some of the great online challenges! Today, I’ve decided to do two in one. The sketch challenge on Stamping 411 was awesome as was the Color Inkspiration Challenge.

I recently got the Build-A-Bear embosslit and it is just so stinkin’ cute. I had it out to use on the next challenge I participated in, so here it is.

The base of this card is Naturals Ivory and I’ve layered it with some Not Quite Navy which was run through my Sizzix Big Shot with the paisley texture plate. On the bottom, I’ve added some Chocolate Chip pattered designer paper. To make the white dots more of an ivory or vanilla tone, I used my Barely Banana marker. By colouring in these dots, you can make the DSP any colour you want! I tied a big piece of 5/8″ Old Olive grosgrain around the seam of these two papers. I added three Very Vanilla brads to the DSP in the end for some extra dimension.

For the little bear, I actually ran him through my Big Shot three times – once in Close to Cocoa, once in Chocolate Chip and again in Real Red. This gave me a solid bear, a bear that I cut out lots of pieces and an extra heart. Once together, it looks like this (close up):

IMG_6944

Lastly, I had to add a sentiment. I decided to run with one from Nursery Necessities and I stamped it in Not Quite Navy. I then punched it out with the Modern Label punch and made it wavy. I added it onto a toothpick and then inbehind the teddy bear.

The bear is mounted on a piece of Old Olive which was roughed up as well, there is a 1 3/4″ circle of Not Quite Navy in behind him.

Watch for Β more great samples with this embosslit, it is just so cute!

Products used on this project :

Cardstock: Naturals Ivory, Not Quite Navy, Old Olive, Chocolate Chip, Close to Cocoa, Real Red.

Ink: Not Quite Navy, Close to Cocoa.

Stamps: Nursery Necessities.

Accessories: Lil’ Bear Embosslit, Sizzix Big Shot, Modern Label punch, 1 3/4″ Circle punch, 5/8″ Old Olive Grosgrain, Very Vanilla HodgePodge Hardware, Texture Plates.

13 thoughts on “Building a Bear

  1. Great Card! II think I may need to buy the embosslit ! So cute..

  2. hah, you are getting the build-a-bear fever!

    PS…thanx for dropping my inkpad off πŸ™‚

  3. Great card Carrie – I must get my cuttlebug and embossing folders out, the add so much depth without having to add a lot of extra layers. And I love the little banner your bear is holding, cheers,Jo

  4. This is really great Carrie! Beautiful!

  5. Awesome card, Carrie! So sweet! Thanks for playing along this week!

  6. …this card is ‘beary’ sweet!!! lol I think it is absolutely gorgeous. Sally πŸ™‚

  7. Your card is just too stinkin’ cute!! I love it!! Thanks for playing along this week!!

  8. super cute! Love that little bear!

  9. *squeee!* I LOVE this bear!! πŸ˜€ So cute!!

  10. Great Blog!……There’s always something here to make me laugh…Keep doing what ya do πŸ™‚

  11. Like another person mentioned what a fantastic weblog this is. Generally I dont take some time with a remark though on your work you deserve 1. Congratulations are in order

  12. Hi there! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could locate a captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty finding one? Thanks a lot!

  13. Pingback: Inkspirations Colour Challenge # 13 WINNER!.... - Makeesha Byl

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

