Artistic Avenger

Cheery Cocktail

6 Comments

IMG_6887

ppa

Of all the In Colours this year, Crushed Curry is the one I have the most trouble using. So, when I saw the Pals Paper Arts Challenge this week using Crushed Curry, Brocade Blue and Ruby Red, I knew I had to give it a try!

I’ve been working at a feverish pace these past couple of weeks making samples for a bunch of trade shows I’ve got coming up so I needed a little “me-time” to make something just because. I’ll post photos of all the samples later on once I’m more organized. I decided that I’d do little groupings, ie. baby samples, birthday samples, Halloween, etc. So far I’m pretty happy!

Back to this card though….

The base is Brocade Blue and I stamped the citrus image from Tart & Tangy in Versamark along the upper 2/3rds and I broke it up with a strip of Crushed Curry which was scalloped along the bottom.

For the main image, I used Cheers to You and stamped an image in Jet Black StazOn on some watercolour paper. I used my markers and my aquapainter for my watercolouring this time. I usually use my ink pads and aquapainter but I’m loving this look with the markers. I rounded one corner and backed it on some Ruby Red cardstock.

For the sentiment, I used the “cheers” from Cheers to You and stamped a citrus image in Crushed Curry (which is stamped off first). I punched it out with the 1″ circle punch and adhered it behind a circular piece of Styled Silver HodgePodge Hardware.

Because I can’t finish a card without ribbon, I took a piece of black gingham and ran my Ruby Red marker over it and added it under the HodgePodge.

Keep watching for more projects with Crushed Curry in the weeks to come – I’ve beginning to fall in love…..

Products used on this project – CLICK HERE to order them NOW!

Card Stock: Brocade Blue, Ruby Red, Crushed Curry, Watercolour paper.

Ink: Jet Black StazOn, Versamark, Crushed Curry.

Stamps: Cheers to You, Tart & Tangy.

Accessories: Styled Silver HodgePodge Hardware, Black Marker, Black Gingham, Markers (In Colour, Ruby Red, Brocade Blue), Aquapainter, Corner Rounder Punch.

6 thoughts on “Cheery Cocktail

  1. Love the lemon and the cheers inside the hardware!

  2. This card is so cute!!! I stalk your blog regularly. TFS

  3. Great use of hardware and the Cheers to You set.

    On behalf of the Pals Paper Arts design team, thank you for playing @ PPA!

  4. Carrie this is cute. Love the hardware use. I need to get mine out!

  5. So simple and so cute, Carrie! Great job with the challenge colors! I too love the highlighted lemon slice (very clever)! Thanks for playing along at PPA! Join us this Thursday for a new sketch challenge!

    Margaret Moody
    margaretmoody.typepad.com

  6. So simple and so cute, Carrie! Great job with the challenge colors! I too love the highlighted lemon slice (very clever)! Thanks for playing along at PPA! Join us this Thursday for a new sketch challenge!

    Margaret Moody
    margaretmoody.typepad.com

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

