Artistic Avenger

My Favourite Convention Swap

16 Comments

IMG_6476

When I go to Convention, I like to join at least one organized swap. An organized swap is where you are given a theme and a certain number of projects to make. In this case, it was the Awesome Christmas Card swap. I mean, come on, who doesn’t need Christmas samples at this time of year?

I wanted to use a set that was not your typical holiday set so I decided to use Trendy Trees.

The base is Bashful Blue and it is layered with Brushed Silver and then Whisper White.

I knew that I wanted to do various circles on the tree to look like billowy snow puffs (what a great mental image, huh?). I decided to cut out a scallop envelope with my Sizzix Big Shot for the backing of this piece and then layered it with some Whisper White cardstock and Bashful Blue designer paper. The bottom snow is just hand cut and then I added Dazzling Diamonds.

The tree trunk is stamped in Soft Suede as is the sentiment (from Many Merry Messages).

To top it off, I added some striped organza and a Rhinestone Brad.

Products Used on this ProjectClick HERE to order them NOW!

Card Stock: Whisper White, Bashful blue, Brushed Silver.

Ink: Soft Suede.

Stamps: Trendy Trees, Many Merry Messages.

Accessories: 3/4″ circle punch, 1/2″ circle punch, 1″ circle punch, Dazzling Diamonds, 2 way glue pen, Rhinestone Brads, organza Ribbon, Sizzix Big Shot, Scallop Envelope Die.

16 thoughts on “My Favourite Convention Swap

  1. un-stinkin-believable!

  2. Love the card, but where’s the convention news and gossip!? Who won awards and who’s on advisory next year, did you see your Artisan Award entry that you forgot to photograph??!! Come on – tell all!

  3. Carrie, YOU are AMAZING!!!! Another brilliant, over-the-top creative design! I love this!

  4. THIS is fanominal (did I spell that right?) wow! I think I will be casing this for my Holiday SAS-great idea. Thanks!

  5. oh my gosh this is a GREAT card! How creative!!!!

  6. Stunning!!! Makes me wish I was at convention. That set is too perfect for a fresh take on Christmas. I love how you punched to make the tree. Brilliant as usual! :O)

  7. Absolutely fabulous, I’ll be CASEing this in my classes!

  8. Clean and simple, fresh, whimsical….unbelievable! Fabulous use of the scallop envelope as your background “canvas”!

    Chris

  9. I absolutely love this card. It is soooo unique … truly something special.

  10. O.K., In my next life I want your talent. This is so inventive and adorable!!

  11. Oh My Carrie! that is LOVELY! I hope you don’t mind if I CASE this for my Christmas Stamp-A-Stack with my customers! I will give credit!

    Thanks for sharing this unique creation!
    Liz

  12. Gorgeous! This is the best use I’ve seen of the scallop envelope die yet!

  13. Wow! Absolutely gorgeous! The glitter on here is perfect!

  14. Pingback: My Blog Picks and Posts from Here and There Around the Web #3 « Rogue Thoughts…Jean's Stamping Studio in the Rogue Valley

  15. Pingback: My Blog Picks and Posts from Here and There Around the Web #3 « Rogue Thoughts…Jean's Stamping Studio in the Rogue Valley

  16. Oh my gosh, what a stunning card! This totally appeals to me!! Love the white snow on the tree and the hint of glitter…

    By the way, I noticed one of your Artisan Award pages up on the display at Convention (the one with the friend and her drink). That page looks even cooler in person!!

    Cindy 🙂

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

