Artistic Avenger

It’s a Ring!

5 Comments

IMG_6458

I was surfing around and was inspired by a new challenge by someone new to me, Makeesha Byl. She has a beautiful blog and hosts Inspiration Challenges. This week’s was FANTASTIC and I’m super happy to give it a try. I had a really hard time photoing this card – those pesky dimensionals just kept showing – SORRY!

I also wanted to make a card that would fit the Caardvarks Challenge to make a wedding or baby card! 

The bold pattern of the inspiration piece was awesome and I knew right away I had to do something with the diamond pattern. So, I cut out a bunch of 3/4″ squares in Basic Black cardstock and laid them out on a strip of Whisper White cardstock. When I got the pattern I liked, I adhered them. This strip was then added to a piece of Bermuda Bay cardstock.

The card base is So Saffron and is layered with Basic Gray and Going Gray. I tied a piece of 5/8″ So Saffron grosgrain around the right of the diamond piece.

Punches are great and I wanted to keep with the boldness of the pattern in regards to the wedding part of the card. So, I cut out a 1″ square and then cut a 3/4″ square in the middle. I backed it with some Shimmery White cardstock to make the “diamond”. I then punched out a 1 3/8″ circle and then around that with the 1 3/4″ circle punch for the band of the ring. I added this all on with dimensionals.

Lastly, I wasn’t sure about a saying but I just love the Teeny Tiny Wishes stamp set and Modern Label Punch. I used both of these and backed them with a large oval in Basic Gray.

I am very glad to have found Makeesha’s blog and will certainly be doing another challenge with her very soon!

Have a great day and thanks for stopping by.

Products used on this projectClick here to buy them NOW!

Card stock: Basic Black, Basic Gray, Whisper White, So Saffron, Going Gray, Bermuda Bay, Shimmery White.

Ink: Basic Black.

Stamps: Teeny Tiny Wishes.

Accessories: 1 3/4″ circle punch, 1 3/8″ circle punch, So Saffron 5/8″ grosgrain, Modern Label Punch, Large Oval Punch.

5 thoughts on “It’s a Ring!

  1. OMG! This is so stinkin’ CUTE! … so creative and unique (as always!).

  2. Love this card! A really original design, just great!

  3. Woooooowwww…. You did an amazing job with the inspiration piece! I love that diamond patterned paper you created, it looks amazing. Great choice of colours, too!

    I hope you’ll come back to Makeesha’s blog to play in the challenges – I’d love to see some more beautiful creations like this one!

    Cindy 🙂

  4. How very clever! Great job!

  5. this is fantastic, and i may try to adapt it to add a wedding band for a guy intertwined with the diamond to make it a wedding card, since i have one coming up in october! great job!!!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

