Artistic Avenger

Birthday Greetings with a Touch of Vanilla

3 Comments

IMG_6432

I was totally stumped when I saw the Mojo Monday sketch this week – so, all the more reason to give it a try! Also, I’ve got a new In Colour experimental combo to try – Mellow Moss, Handsome Hunter and Rich Razzleberry!

The card base is Mellow Moss and is then layered with Handsome Hunter. I found a large Handsome Hunter circle that I had cut for something so I knew I wanted to use that piece. But what to layer it on? 

The stripes in the sketch are great but I knew I wanted the focal point to be whatever is in the circle so I had to come up with a way to make stripes that were inconspicuous. So, I took a layer of Very Vanilla cardstock and scored it at equal intervals to make panel-like stripes.

I tried to take a closer photo, lets see if this works:

IMG_6433

So now for the rest of it….I ran that Handsome Hunter circle through the Sizzix Big Shot and textured it with the Swirls Texture Plate. I then used the leaves sizzlet and flower embosslit for the flower and leaves. I added a cordouroy Chocolate Chip button in the centre of the flower. 

Since the Vanilla HodgePodge is on special, I thought I’d better use it! I stamped a greeting from On Your Birthday in Handsome Hunter on Mellow Moss and punched it out with the Designer Label punch. I then tied in a piece of Rich Razzleberry dotted ribbon. I found the dots were VERY white so I dotted over them with my Barely Banana marker to make them look more like vanilla dots.

Thanks for stopping in!

Products used on this project click here to buy them NOW!

Card Stock: Mellow Moss, Very Vanilla, Handsome Hunter, Rich Razzleberry. Ink: Handsome Hunter. Stamps: On Your Birthday. Accessories: Vanilla HodgePodge Hardware, Chocolate Chip Cord buttons, Rich Razzleberry polka dot ribbon, Designer Label Punch, Sizzix Big Shot, Texture Plates, Little Leaves Sizzlit, Simple Flower Embosslit, Barely Banana Marker, Paper Trimmer.

3 thoughts on “Birthday Greetings with a Touch of Vanilla

  1. Hi. Just stopping by to say I love your take on the sketch. Very creative with using scoring for the panels.

  2. This card is absolutely gorgeous! I love those colours together!

  3. Stunning card! I love that you didn’t use any patterned paper, but made a totally fab card 🙂

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

