Artistic Avenger

Happy Hippo – another In Colour Experiment

3 Comments

IMG_6412

This is another one of my little tries at In Colour Combinations. I decided not to do a card but a little 2468 box and my colour scheme of choice is Melon Mambo, Crushed Curry, Basic Gray and Going Gray. 

The box itself is Going Gray and has been textured using my Sizzix Big Shot and the large polka dot pattern. I then assembled it and stuck it together with Sticky Strip.

I added a birthday greeting from On Your Birthday and punched it out with the Modern Label punch. I decided that I didn’t like it just by itself so I cut it down and then layered some circles in behind it.

On the top, the hippo from Pun Fun was stamped in Jet Black StazOn and some Confetti white card stock and watercoloured. It is then layered on Crushed Curry and adhered to the top of the lid.

Speaking of the lid, isn’t it cute? I made it using the scallop circle die and my Sizzix Big Shot – here’s how!

First, cut out a scallop in scrap paper and fold in half in two directions to give you your centre point. You can save this for future use:

 pic1

Next, pierce a hole in the centre so you have your centre point:

pic2

 Next step is to make a 2 1/16 x 2 1/16 square of cardstock. Fold it like you did with the scallop circle and find the centrepoint. Match them and you’ve got the lid right in the centre of the scallop circle. For my sample, I actually used a 2 x 2 square which worked just perfectly! Lastly, you’ll need a ruler to score on the lid’s dimensions – but you’ll score all the way out to the edges of the scallop like so:

pic4

 All that is left now is to trim the edges in to the centre square and glue them to form the lid and voila! A cute scalloped edge lid! Give it a try!

Products used on this project – click here to purchase them online!

Cardstock: Going Gray, Basic Gray, Melon Mambo, Crushed Curry, Confetti White. Ink: Going Gray, Basic Gray, Crushed Curry, Melon Mambo, Jet Black StazOn. Stamps: Pun Fun, On Your Birthday. Accessories: Sizzix Big Shot, Scallop Circle Die, Texture Plates, Aquapainter, Bone Folder, Modern Label Punch, 1 1/4 circle punch, 3/4 circle punch, Crushed Curry Poka Dotted Grosgrain.

3 thoughts on “Happy Hippo – another In Colour Experiment

  1. Great idea to top the 2,4,6,8 box with a scallop circle lid! Thanks for the excellent directions. I can’t wait to give it a try. jmniffer

  2. Super Cute! I love, love, love the way you did the sentiment. What a cute project. I couldn’t figure out how you did the square, but I’ll just give it a try and I’m sure I’ll get it then.

  3. Adorable little box! Sweet topper!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

