Artistic Avenger

Hi My Friend

4 Comments

IMG_6379

I needed a kick start to my mojo so I flew over to SCS for their weekly colour challenge. This week’s challenge was to use Kraft, So Saffron and Not Quite Navy – three colours I truly love!

This card was something totally different in my head then what it ended up being and I’m not really sure if I’m out of my mojo rut after this!

I started with a Not Quite Navy card base and layered it with So Saffron. I decided to round the bottom corners on the card. I then added a layer of Very Vanilla. On this layer, I stamped the small butterfly from Flight of the Butterfly in stamped off Sahara Sand as this is the closest to Kraft ink I could get!

I knew I didn’t want to use an abundant amount of Kraft so I decided to bring it in by using chipboard. I used a large circle of chipboard (which I coated in Not Quite Navy craft ink). I wrapped it with saffron grosgrain and tacked it down with Not Quite Navy brads.

To keep with the circular/dotted theme, I stamped a larger butterfly in So Saffron and Not Quite Navy and cut it out. I added it to the chipboard circle with a dimensional.

Lastly, I wanted to add one more detail to add the word “friend”. In this case it is from Fundamental Phrases. I wanted it to be different and not predictable. So, I stamped it on some So Saffron designer paper and punched it out with a 1″ circle punch. I then ran some acetate through my Sizzix Big Shot and the Baskets and Blooms die to cut out the small flower. 

I adhered the circle behind the acetate flower with a glue dot (it is behind the button) and then onto the card with a dimensional.

Sorry for the dark photo as well but the lighter I went, the more the acetate didn’t show up!

Thanks for your patience with my mojo….I hope it’s not on vacation too long!

4 thoughts on “Hi My Friend

  1. Fantastic design! … so many interesting elements that work so very well together! Great job!

  2. This is so pretty! Great job with the color challenge.

  3. I think you are doing just fine. I seem to have the same problem of my card turning out differently but then maybe this isn’t a problem but the evolution of the card. This is a cool card and you’re right about the sahara sand looking like kraft ink. Good call. I always enjoy your creations so don’t be so hard on your self.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

