Artistic Avenger

Hippo Birthday – an Artisan Award Entry

8 Comments

IMG_5852

Here is another one of my Artisan Award entries – this is a pocket birthday invitation. When I started making this project, I had a completely different idea in my head and this is what evolved. I was really pleased with this project. Oh, another project I was super pleased about won the Father’s Day contest on Shelli Gardner’s blog this week…..sorry, just had to toot!

The base is Chocolate Chip and it is layered with Real Red and textured Kiwi Kiss cardstock on top and designer paper from the Hoppy Memories Simply Scrappin’ Kit on the bottom. Across the seam, I added some wide double stitched Chocolate Chip grosgrain and some 5/8″ Real Red grosgrain. I tied this layer of ribbon in a piece of Styled Silver HodgePodge hardware.

I stamped the hippo from Pun Fun on some watercolour paper using Jet Black StazOn and coloured him in with coordinating inks and an aquapainter. I then cut him out and adhered him to the card over a star from the Hoppy Memories SS kit.

I then added some lettering in Chocolate Chip using my Naturally Serif sizzlet and my Sizzix Big Shot and under those letters I layered a few different circles which I had run through the Sizzix with various texture plates. The inside piece looks like this:

IMG_5853

This is a Real Red layer which I added a layer of Whisper White to. I stamped the to/from stamp from Hugs & Wishes in Basic Black. On the top I added a half circle of coordinating designer paper, two brads and some of the matching double stitched wide Chocolate grosgrain. I stamped and cut out the little bird from Pun Fun after watercolouring it as well.

Thanks so much for stopping by!

8 thoughts on “Hippo Birthday – an Artisan Award Entry

  1. This is totally awesome. Love how bright it is!

  2. Carrie this card is so amazing. I love all the colours you used. I’m definitely going to borrow this for making cards in the future. Congrats on been one of the winners on Shelli’s blog, That’s so exciting!

  3. ABSOLUTELY ADORABLE! TFS!

  4. This is adorable and hello the colors are so you! Congrats on your win!!

  5. too cute..!! yay on your win.. such a cute project.. : )

  6. This is so cute! I love the layering of the ribbon and the creative use of the hardware.

  7. What an exciting mix of colors! So vibrant and happy! 🙂

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

