Artistic Avenger

Just to Say “Hi”

10 Comments

IMG_6243

I needed a kick in the mojo this week so I ran over to Mojo Monday to check out their sketch this week and it was awesome. I’d have this idea for a while – using the Leaves #2 die (big surprise) to make a mermaid. So here it is!

I tried to follow the sketch pretty much to the “t” but did a few of my own little creative additions….here goes….

I first started with a 5×5 card base of Pacific Point and layered it with some Kiwi Kiss. I stamped the grass image from Inspired by Nature in Always Artichoke to look like seaweed. I then added some Baja Breeze (like the sky) and a small strip of Good Morning Sunshine designer paper and some Artichoke grosgrain.

To add more of a water feel, I made little fish. The bodies are made from the leaves from the Sizzlets Birds and Blooms and the tails are from the stem embosslit.

The word panel is Whisper White and is layered on some Tempting Turquoise. I added the salutation from the Perfect Day rub ons.

Okay, for the mermaid…..

I first took two pieces of cardstock – Always Artichoke and Garden Green and did the direct to paper technique with my Versamark pad. I covered one in clear embossing powder and the other in irridescent ice. I then punched out lots and lots of 1/2″ circles and adhered them to yet another piece of cardstock. I then ran it through my Sizzix with the Leaves #2 die to make the body. The two pieces on the bottom for the fins are the larger leaves from Birds and Blooms. If you can’t tell, the Sahara Sand circle she is perched on is a rock.

The body of mermaid is in Blush Blossom and is a small tag punch shape. I then punched out a small oval punch in Blush Blossom and then punched around it with the large oval punch to make arms. She is holding a little bouquet of Pacific Point flowers. Her shell bra is made from Very Vanilla cardstock that was run through the Sizzix with the Birds and Blooms sizzlet. Lastly, her hair is Close to Cocoa which I punched out with my scallop circle punch. The face is a 1″ circle and I think what I did on her face is pretty self explanatory and this post is just too long already!

Thanks for stopping by and don’t forget to be creative with those Sizzix Dies!

10 thoughts on “Just to Say “Hi”

  1. Carrie, this is way too cute. You did an awesome job on all the details; especially the little fish. So clever!

  2. OHhhhhhh…this is my favorite yet, very clever. Love it!

  3. Awesome Carrie! But…..should have been a red-head! LOL.

  4. Amazing!. Great colors and design.

  5. Kick ass card! One of Favs for sure.

  6. What a fantastic creation!! Fabulous details here Carrie!

  7. I love what you do with that leaves #2 die! Thanks for sharing.
    Lisa

  8. Awesome job! I love all the ideas you are coming up with for the Leaves die! 🙂 You are a genious! 🙂

  9. Carrie, this is FINtastic!!! I love how you created the two-toned effect with the 2 different EPs and c/s colours for her mermaid body! You are deFINitely one creative thinker! TFS!

    Chris in Calgary, AB Canada

  10. Absolutely adorable and ingenious Carrie! Saving this one to case later…..**

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

