Artistic Avenger

Worlds Best Dad Badge Card

8 Comments

IMG_6122

The Caardvarks Challenge just posted today is to make a shaped card. I knew I wanted to make something for Father’s Day but was SO stumped! Upon cleaning up my son’s room, I found an old sheriff’s badge – a ha moment!

To get the shape, I traced around the star and put the tracing in my photocopier and increased the size 250%. I then traced it onto some Going Gray cardstock which was folded in half so two of the outer circles are actually on the fold which makes this a card that can open and close.

After I got it all cut the way I wanted it, I cut out some letters with my Sizzix Big Shot and the Serif Naturally extended Sizzlet. I affixed them with my 2-way glue pen. 

Then, I got started on embossing – a lot! I wanted the look of metal so I covered the whole thing with Versamark and Silver Embossing powder and embossed it about 4 times altogether. So, not only does it look a lot like metal (I also sponged black ink to give is more weathered look) but the lettering looks like it is fused to the card.

On the tips of the star, I added some pewter Build-A-Brads. I used my Crafter’s Tool Kit to cut the stems off them and affixed them with Pop Up Glue dots.

I also added some velcro to the inside of two of the points and a pin on the back (which you can’t see) so once Dad receives this, he can wear the “badge” proudly all Father’s Day!

Thanks for stopping by to check this out and please check out Caardvarks for the Shaped Card challenge – there is a great prize to be had!

8 thoughts on “Worlds Best Dad Badge Card

  1. This is so cute and creative Carrie !

  2. This is just soo cool Carrie! I appreciate it even more now that I have read how you created it! Love how those letters look like part of the star!

    (-: Heidi

  3. This is excellent Carrie! Love that it also functions as a real badge for Dad to wear!

  4. Love it! As soon as I looked at it I wondered how you got the letters “embossed” on the star….great idea!

  5. OMG Carrie – this is the BEST! Gorgeous card; I love it. You are sooooo clever.

  6. What dad wouldn’t love receiving this … I love the effect of embossing over the adhered letters … very cool.

  7. Wow! I love that you actually made it into a badge for him to wear and not just a card. So clever!

  8. The look you have achieved with the die-cut letters and the embossing is incredible! It really looks like the letters were pressed into the metal!

    Congrats on your win!!

    Cindy

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

