Artistic Avenger

In the Trees

13 Comments

img_5879

The Caardvarks Challenge just posted today is to make a new creation that is “tree” themed. I was super nervous about making a card as it is my first design team assignment. I hummed and hawed for days and thought, forget it, I’m going to make what I’m going to make. This is what came from my little creative tug of war.

The card is a 5 1/2 x 5 1/2 square of Chocolate Chip and is layered with Pumpkin Pie. I wanted a background that would mimic the water and a sunset so I used my brayer and some stampin sponges to get that desired effect.

I cut out a tree trunk free hand and then ran a whole bunch of Old Olive cardstock through my Sizzix Big Shot with the Leaves #2 die. I stamped them randomly with Itty Bitty Backgrounds and sponged them. I then added a few coconuts of Close to Cocoa.

I stamped the little monkey from Sock Monkey in Jet Black StazOn and watercoloured him and then cut him out. I positioned him to pop out of the tree and added a few bananas.

In the bottom right, I decided to add the sentiment in a circle and added a little extra banana for dimension and colour.

Okay, now your turn. RUN over to Caardvarks to check out the beautiful design team work and make your own tree card, post it to the Caardvarks site and you could win a beautiful Taylored Expressions stamp set! You have until April 30th to enter.

One other note, coming May 1 – 3 – an amazing Reader Weekend where you’ll see spotlights of amazing readers just like you! Go to the latest post on Caardvarks to learn more!

13 thoughts on “In the Trees

  1. Your card is so cute! Great job! It makes me smile!

  2. Great card, Carrie. Thanks for inspiring me to get out this stamp set again. !

  3. I’m just loving this fun card! Makes me smile.

  4. Love it – of all the cards posted I like your’s and Jenns the best – I could see myself making this – but definitely not some of the others – totally inspired by this fun card! Go with your flow – we love it!!

  5. This is too cute! Love the monkey peeking out of the tree!

  6. Cute cute cute … love those bananas.

  7. How adorably cute!!

  8. Following you instincts was a good idea Carrie! I love the tree and all of the dimension it adds! What a super cute card! Thanks so much for sharing the fun!

  9. OMG!! THis is SUPER cute! I love it!!!

  10. Totally fabulous Carrie! I love all that amazing cutting!

  11. This is one beautifully designed and FUN card Carrie! Adore it!

  12. Love the creativity on this card! Would never have thought of this and absolutely think this is the cutest thing going!

  13. SUPERB! I love it and can’t wait to case it!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

