Artistic Avenger

For Mr. and Mrs. ?

3 Comments

img_5903

I took SO many photos of this card and just couldn’t get it right so I settled on this one. I don’t know anyone who is getting married right now but felt like making a wedding card. 

I was inspired by today’s Sketch Challenge on SCS. I really wanted to use the colour challenge but it just didn’t work for me. Sometimes too many colours is just too hard for me!

So, this card has a base of Going Gray. On the top, I stamped the large flourish from Baroque Motifs in Basic Gray. For the two horizontal panels, I used Baja Breeze and Certainly Celery DSP. The Celery layer is punched with the scallop edge punch and added with dimensionals so it hangs over the Baja DSP. Both are backed on some Basic Gray cardstock.

For the focal panel, I stamped the flower from Together Forever over and over again in Going Gray ink and I then coloured them in with Baja Breeze ink and a blender pen and my Certainly Celery Stampin’ Write Marker.

I stamped “mr & mrs” using coordinating inks and sponged the edges of the white layer with Going Gray. Three brads were added to the top right of that panel and then matching ribbons were added, layered like the horizontal panels.

Lastly, I wanted to put a little something on that I love yet rarely use, beads. So I added mini glue dots to the centres of the large flowers and covered them in Celery Micro Beads. I used a little bit of Tombow to adhere the beads to the smaller flowers.

I still feel there is something missing, however, it could just be that I’m not used to so much white space.

3 thoughts on “For Mr. and Mrs. ?

  1. This is gorgeous. Love the colours and details.

  2. I’m like you and don’t like all that white space. My suggestion is to lightly stipple baja breeze in the background. I do this a lot and it seems to help. I do like your card though. Gave me an idea for an up coming wedding. I could just change out the strips to match her colors. Thanks for the idea. I also like your idea of the brads and ribbons in the upper corner. It gives it that added dimension.

  3. Carrie, you did a beautiful job with this set. Love the colors and the layout!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

