Artistic Avenger

Home Sweet Home

8 Comments

img_5870

I know, this is a little different than what I usually post (cards) but I love SU’s Decor Elements and had to share a project I did recently. You can view all the great designs that SU offers by clicking on the Decor Element brochure to your right on my blog here.

Anyhow, I had used part of the  Kind Thoughts Brocade Decor Element for a contest entry (think positive thoughts for me!) and I had these two pieces left over. So I decided to use them on a home decor piece.

I picked up a canvas from my local craft store and painted it with a colour that I’ve used on a bathroom in my home (Benjamin Moore, Mt. Saint Anne). I love this colour.  I then painted the wooden letters with chocolate brown (burnt umber I think) paint. Once dry, I adhered them with Tombow Multi Adhesive to the canvas.

After the letters were affixed, I added the Decor Element pieces. Now you may be wondering why I did this off centre. Well, it wasn’t intentional. I totally messed up my measurements so I then figured out that I needed to add something to the left of the lettering.

So, I ran some Black grosgrain ribbon and some 5/8″ Chocolate Chip grosgrain ribbon down the left side and adhered some pieces of Antique Brass (retired) HodgePodge Hardware. In each “frame” I added some Urban Garden Designer Paper.

This was super fun to make, not sure where I’m going to put it, but fun to make! Thanks for stopping in!

8 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home

  1. This is so beautiful. I love how you “fixed’ your error…and it looks totally intentional. Really love it! TFS
    Sue

  2. Wonderful piece Carrie, again love your work!

  3. Wow, this is such a fabulous piece of art. It does not look like a cover up for a mistake at all, I just thought it was more of your superb design!

  4. THAT is super cute…I have a couple DE in my stash and HAD to have them and have NO IDEA what to do with them! LOL Thanks for sharing this idea…

  5. I love the DSP in the HPH! Just adorable!

  6. This is absolutely fabulous! I love it ALL-the colors, the layout looks awesome & the ribbons/HPH is brilliant, TFS!!

  7. Ooops-I mean to add, best of luck with the contest, too!

  8. LOVE THIS! Don’t ya just love when you have a “happy accident”? You should be pround to display this in your home. TFS!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

