Artistic Avenger

Oh, Knit….another Occupation Card

12 Comments

img_5799

First, I apologize for the poor picture. I made this card at night and had to take a photo right away as it was being given to the recipient immediately.

This card was made for my Aunt’s birthday last week and she is an avid knitter. I don’t have any knit-type stamps and had seen this idea online so decided to try it for myself.

First, the card base is Chocolate Chip and is layered with some plaid designer paper in Pink Pirouette. I took my Chocolate Chip Stampin’ Write marker and faux stitched around the designer paper layer.

The basket is made by weaving strips of Creamy Caramel and then cutting them in the shape of the basket. I added a narrow strip of Close to Cocoa along the top and added two brads on either end, both as decoration and to help keep the basket together. The handle is a strip of Close to Cocoa as well.

For the inside basket contents, I punched out three Rounded Tab Punch shapes in Kraft cardstock. I then wound around some cross stitch thread around each and added two stick pins per spool. I tucked them into the basket and then onto the card.

I finished it off with a little rub on below the basket.

This card is perfect for the knitter you know or any type of sewing enthusiast. Next up – something for the men in your life….

12 thoughts on “Oh, Knit….another Occupation Card

  1. WOW! This is so creative! I love how you personalized it for the recipient! LOVE it!

  2. I love it! What a great card!

  3. Uh. Wow. That is AMAZING! I love the basket, and the yarn, and the needles…the whole thing. Awesome card Carrie!

  4. OMG, this is amazing! I love the spools of thread, what a neat idea! Great card!

  5. Such an amazing card and wonderful idea! U R Brilliant!!

  6. Damn I’m good at picking uplines, eh?! You inspire me so much. You’ve encouraged me to set a creative working goal and I am going to be doing a challenge once a week.

  7. This is A-DOR-A-BLE!!! How clever and cute. I’m sure your aunt loved it.

  8. Beautiful job Carrie! You’re on a roll lately! Great stuff – keep it up!

  9. Hi Carrie,
    This knit card is so cute especially if you like to knit like I do.

  10. This is totally adorable. What a neat idea!
    Congrats on the iPick, too!

  11. love the card — and especially how you angled the basket handle — great job!

  12. I too love this card, so crafty, so cute.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

