Artistic Avenger

You’re the BEST!

4 Comments

img_5832

Yesterday was a momentous day in our home – my son lost his first tooth!

Now, I love my little guy but this was probably a more painful experience for me than for him. His new tooth had come in behind the old one and he refused to pull it out or let us try. Therefore, he was in pain and couldn’t eat (for almost three days!). So, I decided that yesterday was the day for the tooth to come out. Period.

Well, after a fairly traumatic morning of trying to get him to open his mouth, I decided to take him to our dentists office (thank goodness my girlfriend is our hygenist!). After about 5 minutes in the chair, his tooth was OUT! What a relief. Now, I think I need to go for groceries for the second time in since yesterday as this kid just won’t stop eating!

Anyhow, I thought I’d better make a great card for my girlfriend for getting him to get in the office on extremely short notice (we called from the parking lot!) and decided to use the Mojo Monday sketch this week as my starting point.

When I saw the sketch this week I instantly saw the long vertical panel as a tooth so that is what I did. I looked online for pictures of teeth and sketched this one and cut it out.

The card base is Real Red and is layered with Basic Black and then Kraft cardstock. The designer paper on the lower part of the card is Rockabilly Specialty Paper from SU (love this!) and I layered it with Real Red. On this layer I also added a rub on from the Greatest Moments rub ons.

I doubled my ribbon (red grosgrain on white taffeta) and added a Star brad.

Then, for the lower portion, in the sketch it looks like scallops but I wanted to keep with the teeth theme so I used my spiral punch on a scrap of white cardstock and adhered behind the designer paper layer to look like perfect “chicklet” teeth.

Not a lot of stamping on this card (none actually) but what a fun one! Now, check back in the next few days as I’m working on all types of “occupational” cards.

Have a great day and don’t forget to smile!

4 thoughts on “You’re the BEST!

  1. Aw what a sweet card a brilliant idea and fab colours , Im sure your son was thrilled with it. It seems like only yesterday my children were going through the same thing, now I am waiting for my little grandaughter to get her first tooth. luv sue x

  2. Glad Owen’s tooth finally came out !!! Love the card….

  3. Very original, I love it! I know I always say that! Makes my MOJO card this week look sad!!

  4. This is so cute and so original!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

