Artistic Avenger

No Card Today!

5 Comments

img_5732

I loved Kristina Werner’s Colour Challenge this week: Pumpkin Pie, Ruby Red, Brocade Blue, Old Olive and Chocolate Chip.

My daughter had a birthday party to go to today and I thought I’d try to wrap the present in the colours from the challenge. I have a bunch of these white gable boxes and decided to start with that.

I ran a piece of Chocolate Chip cardstock through my Sizzix Big Shot with the Top Note die to get the front opening piece. I backed it with Confetti White and stamped two images from Pun Fun right onto the backing piece. I stamped the hippo separately on another piece of Confetti White cardstock and cut him out. I watercoloured the images with ink and my aquapainter.

I wanted to have it look like more than just three characters on a box so I used my thin Sharpie pen to draw a horizon line and watercoloured some grass and sky.

I stamped “happy birthday” from Happy Everything using Chocolate Chip and Old Olive ink. 

I added a few strips of Brocade Blue cardstock to one side of the front panel as well as a piece of Old Olive ribbon.

Lastly, I added panels on the top and sides and took my white gel pen to all the sides and faux stitched. Here is a look at it a little closer:

img_5733

What did I have inside? Well, we gave the birthday girl a movie pass (including popcorn and a drink) along with a pass for her parent and some treats. Kids just have so much stuff these days, we thought an activity present would be better. And, in the words of Hannah Montana – we gave her a GNO (girls night out):

img_5731

5 thoughts on “No Card Today!

  1. WOW!!!! This is fantastic!!!!! I love the whole thing!
    You are sure to be in the round up, you are in my top 10 🙂

  2. WOW! Great gift idea and done up so sweet! I really like the extra details with the animals…drawing the horizon line and making it into a little scene! 🙂 Keep up the super work and thanks again for sharing with us!

  3. I love how you water colored this! Nice job!

  4. LOVE THIS….what a great way to use the Top Note die!!

  5. I love the idea of giving gifts that are not just items….this is a great idea!!! Thanks for sharing!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

