Artistic Avenger

Fun with New Goodies!

6 Comments

img_5695

This week’s sketch challenge on Our Creative Corner came just in time. I recently got the stamp set, Man’s Best Friend and really wanted to use it.occ-feb-sketch1-copy-copy2

I started with a colour combo that I’ve been wanting very much to try. I was at a friend’s house and she painted her son’s room in colours resembling Going Gray, Basic Gray and Pumpkin Pie. I loved it and set those colours out to use in an upcoming project – and this is it!

Okay, let’s get started on this project, shall we?

The card base is Going Gray and is layered with Basic Gray and then two panels of Pumpkin Pie designer paper.

For the main focal piece, I started with a piece of Basic Gray cardstock and a smaller sized Going Gray. I used my Circle Scissor Cutter to cut out a centre circle in the centre of the smaller piece. I stamped the scottie dog in Basic Gray on some White cardstock and mounted it under the cut circle. I also added some silver brads to this piece. I threaded some Pumpkin Pie striped grosgrain on either side of the circle and adhered in behind.

I then stamped a smaller dog in Going Gray and punched out with a 1 1/4″ circle punch and then backed in a Basic Gray 1 3/8″ circle.

I stamped the fire hydrant in Pumpkin Pie ink and embossed the whole thing with clear embossing powder. I cut it out and mounted it on the card inbetween the two dog images.

I really liked how the circles were looking so I decided to make an open circle to add my salutation in. I punched out a 1 3/8″ circle and then around it with the 1 3/4″ circle punch. I adhered it partially behind the focal layer and then I added the stamped salutation inside the circle.

I added a silver brad to one end of the salutation and a knot of Gray Taffeta to the other.

Thanks for a great challenge OCC!

6 thoughts on “Fun with New Goodies!

  1. Love Love Love this card, great job!

  2. OMG, this is super cute! I love it!

  3. So cute, love those colors, and the way you did the cutout for the center.

  4. Super nice layout and colors! I really can see this going to either a guy or gal and young or old! Very fun!!

  5. Love the retro vibe on this one – very very cute!!!

  6. WOW, this is awesome! I love your take on the sketch and the colors you used are GORGEOUS!!! I definitely need to try that combo!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

