Artistic Avenger

Feeling Faithful

8 Comments

img_5673

I was contacted by a friend who’s church is doing a silent auction to raise money for a new teen program. Usually, I donate a gift certificate or something that can be redeemed but this time I thought I’d make something tangible so I decided to try my hand at making a prayer journal.

Now, I’ve never made one of these before but I have to admit, I had quite a great time making it and I’m sort of sad to be giving it away!

I started with a 5 x 5 Art Journal that I’ve had forever and haven’t used. I used my spiral punch with some retired Soft Sky designer paper and covered the front and back. I sanded the edges down and sponged some Whisper White craft ink to soften the edges.

I embossed in silver a saying from Hope Happens and then added a some Pretties flower and hatpin. I threw in a few silver brads for good measure and added White taffeta ribbon with some Pretties embellishments on the spine.

img_5674

On the inside covers, I adhered some of the beautiful Sale-A-Bration designer paper as well as a special place for the new owner to put their name. 

I used Soft Sky cardstock to make the separator pages as well. I cut them to 5 x 5 and used my spiral punch. I adhered a title on each which was stamped with the Baroque Motifs swirl in Sahara Sand. Rounded tab punches were added at the end. On the back side of the separator pages, I folded the cardstock to make a pocket.

img_56751

Also, you’ll notice in the first photo of this post, I made a matching bookmark. I used Baja Breeze Striped Ribbon and chipboard along with Filagree Brads and the Eastern Blooms stamp set.

Thanks for stopping by!

8 thoughts on “Feeling Faithful

  1. Wow! This is beautiful. TFS! ~:-D

  2. I’d definitely be bidding on that beautiful prayer journal if I was attending that church. It’s so gorgeous!

  3. This is absolutely beautiful! Looks like you’re a pro on your first one. All the embelishments are perfect. Not over the top. I’d have a REALLY hard time giving this away too! I’m going to have to make one now. TFS!

  4. Hi Carrie,
    Your Prayer Journal has such a soothing, calming feel to it…I think it’s the elegant way you’ve put it together, along with the Soft Sky colours. Did you put titles on each of the divider pages? If so, do you mind sending me your categories? I have often thought of making a prayer journal as well, so would appreciate CASE-ing what you’ve done! Thanks in advance!
    Chris in Calgary
    chriserendipity@shaw.ca

  5. This is beautiful! I love the softness and matching bookmark.

  6. What a gorgeous book! Now you’ll have to make one for yourself. Think of all the possibilities this book could be used for. It’s very elegant! You could make it for a bridal shower or wedding memories, the special earmarked annniversaries, etc.
    Gorgeous!
    Ann 🙂

  7. This is awesome Carrie….I think you should do a class on this one!!!

  8. Beautifully done. I would never have known this was a first attempt. I have made a few in the past – but this is just adorable. I love the size. I will be casing your idea using the 5 x 5 journal.

    Thank so much for sharing
    Annette

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

