Artistic Avenger

Lucky 32!

11 Comments

img_56421

Yesterday was not only a good friend’s birthday but also her son’s and my brother’s. My little bro is a big game player so I knew I had to use Game Night to make his card.

I got my colour inspiration from last week’s Colour Throwdown and the layout from this week’s Mojo Monday sketch.

The card base is Basic Black and the Real Red layer was run through my Sizzix to get a checkerboard pattern with one of the amazing new texture plates (I think this is hard to see in the photo but super cool in real life!).

I made a Brocade Blue band across centre which is layered in Basic Black. I sponged the edges and stamped the game piece in black ink.

Next, I added the vertical piece. First, a layer of Basic Black, then a layer of Whisper White which was sponged with black ink. Then, an inside layer of Brocade Blue which has been sponged and stamped with images again from Game Night.

I stamped the large chess piece in Versamark and and embossed with black embossing powder. While still hot, I repeated this process twice to get a really full and thick looking image. I punched it out with the large oval punch and backed it with a 1 3/4″ circle. I then punched two holes and threaded some black grosgrain ribbon through.

I stamped and cut out two dominos and used my retired Anchored rub ons for the “lucky” and “32” and then added those to the right of the vertical piece.

Lastly, I stamped “celebrate” from Fundamental Phrases in Whisper White craft ink on Basic Black cardstock and punched it out with my Designer label punch. I adhered this just under the bottom of the vertical layer.

And, on the inside, I added a few more little details:

img_5644

11 thoughts on “Lucky 32!

  1. What a fabulous design! Those colors are perfect for your card! Thanks for playing the Throwdown!

  2. This is really cool – great colors for this card! Thanks so much for playing along.

  3. First I love your banner! And this card rocks too!

  4. Great card for a guy and great use of the colors! Glad you played!
    LeAnne

  5. Hi, your card is fabulous, I love the theme of it fabulous idea. joey.xxx

  6. This is gorgeous! Love the colours.

  7. What a fun card! I didn’t really like this stamp set, but you may change my mind.

  8. What great ideas for a card. I always find cards for men really hard work!

  9. This stamp set is perfect for masculine cards! Thanks for showing so many great samples.

  10. WOW — you rocked this challenge, this is so FANTASTIC

  11. This is fabulous, i love it.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

