Artistic Avenger

Let Your Heart Have Wings

10 Comments

img_5636

This week’s colour challenge on SCS was a great one. The colours to use were Creamy Caramel, Cameo Coral and Old Olive. And, also, I thought I’d incorporate the sketch challenge.

Today is the birthday of a wonderful friend. She is a positive person and is enjoying the years of being a young mom so I wanted to make an inspirational card she can go to in those times of “arrghhh” we all face as moms. Happy Birthday, Chantel!

I started with a Shimmery White card base. I love this cardstock. It has great weight and great shine.

I layered Creamy Caramel, Cameo Coral and then a piece of retired Summer  Picnic designer paper. For the side layer, I decided not to use cardstock but clear acetate. I stamped a saying from Hope Happens in Black StazOn and adhered to the designer paper layer. I then paper pierced on the outside edge.

For the focal piece, I stamped a tree from Trendy Trees and then I drew in the butterfly body and used the smallest heart from the Heart to Heart punch for the wings. I also watercoloured some Creamy Caramel under the tree for a shadow. 

I lastly added some Caramel Gingham (retired) for a little added interest. Here is a look at the butterfly and acetate close up:

img_5637

Thanks for stopping by today!

10 thoughts on “Let Your Heart Have Wings

  1. I’ve been loving the cards lately! So pretty. 🙂

  2. Wow what a stunning card – love the hearts as wings! Great job
    x

  3. This is a fabulous creation. Great use of the colors.

  4. Gorgeous cards. I love the colours and layout.

  5. This so pretty.

  6. Very nice layout and color combo

  7. This is really pretty. Love the acetate accent.

  8. Just beautiful! The shimmery white is a perfect starting point for this card.

  9. WOW — this is gorgeous

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

