Artistic Avenger

My First Cupcake Challenge

4 Comments

img_56312

I have been seeing everywhere about Taylor’s Cupcake Challenges so I knew I had to try one out – so my first is actually her 53rd!

I recently received my package of new products from the Spring/Summer catalogue so I wanted to use a couple of those things.  Now, keep in mind, I’m using a new photo editing software so my photos may look wonky for a while here….

I started with a Bravo Burgundy card base and then layered it with Basic Black and then with a piece of Flamingo Designer Paper. I used my ticket corner punch on the top two layers. Where the sketch shows three stars, I decided to use my double rectangle punch and weave some black gingham ribbon through.

From another class I had a long strip of the white dotted piece and so I cut two pieces of it and layered it on some black cardstock. Over that, I stamped a saying from Hope Happens. I used my Rose Red, Bravo Burgundy and Basic Black markers to colour this in.

You’ll notice a little flourish on the top, I used Yummy – one of the amazing Sale-A-Bration sets that you can get for FREE right now! I added some Dazzling Diamonds to the flourish.

Once I had it all together it needed something else so I used a flower rub on from A Perfect Day rub ons and put it on black cardstock. I punched it out with the 5-petal flower punch and to the centre added a Pretties flower, 1/2″ circle of Bravo Burgundy and a Rhinestone brad.

This card feels very much a departure from my regular style but I love using words as the main focus of a card.

Thanks for stopping by!

4 thoughts on “My First Cupcake Challenge

  1. Carrie,

    beautiful card! I absolutely love how you layered that stip of dotted cardstock. What a great out of the box way to use your scraps!

  2. Eye Catching card. Absolutely beautiful. TFS!

  3. Love that new paper! Fabulous card.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

