Artistic Avenger

It’s All Fun and Games….

2 Comments

img_5617

There are certain bloggers that when first starting out, I looked to for ideas and to learn all about the strange world of blogging. One that I pretty much stalked was AmyR and for good reason. She has an amazing blog at Prairie Paper & Ink, is immensely talented and is a good Canadian kid (insert a great big Don Cherry thumbs up here).

So, I was sad to see that she’s started doing sketch challenges and that I have not yet participated – until now! Funny as I’d recently started designing a card for a swap that pretty much meets this sketch (or at least what I’d probably do with it!).

The base for this card is Basic Black and then its been layered with Tempting Turquoise. I stamped the die in Versamark on this layer and then sponged the edges.

Next, I added a strip of Apricot Appeal along the centre on which I embossed “you’re invited” from Hugs and Wishes. Along the top of this strip, I added some red grosgrain and I paper pierced along the bottom.

For the part in Amy’s sketch where she has the three hearts, I decided to make dice. I got the new set Game Night from the new catalogue and just LOVE IT!

I made two squares of Real Red cardstock and rounded the corners. I then used my Crop-A-Dile to make the holes and backed the die in Whisper White cardstock.

I mounted them onto a piece of Basic Black cardstock on which I’d stamped “game night” in Whisper White craft ink.

I also embossed the little “jackpot” stamp in Black Embossing Powder and then coloured it in with matching colours using my Stampin’ Write Markers. I ran an outline of Tombow Multi Adhesive around it and then added some Dazzling Diamonds. In behind that is a little apricot star that was stamped in Basic Black ink with the star from Wanted.

I thought I was done here but needed a wee bit more balance so I added a half of a 1 1/4″ circle to the far upper right and stapled in a 1/2″ circle with a club on it and a bit of black gingham ribbon.

Great sketch, Amy! Thanks for the challenge.

I also just wanted to mention a couple of blogging awards I’ve been awarded lately.

The first is from Corie. She graced me with the Proximity Award. “This award is given to a blog that invests and believes in PROXIMITY – nearness in space, time and relationships! These blogs are exceedingly charming. These kind of bloggers aim to find and be friends. They are not interested in prizes or self-aggrandizement. Our hope is that when the ribbons of these prizes are cut, even more friendships are propagated. Please give more attention to these writers!”

The second is from Dahlene. She has graced me with the Butterfly Award which follows the same principles as the above award.

Thank you both so very much ladies – I do appreciate all of your comments and support.

2 thoughts on “It’s All Fun and Games….

  1. Great card! I’d come to a party with a cool invite like that.
    Also, loved your card on Stamper’s Showcase today. The iPod was very clever!

  2. Awww you made me blush! I’m glad tho that you’re playing along (finally LOL!!!!) Thanks for playin’!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

