Artistic Avenger

Rockin’ the Challenges

16 Comments

img_5616

So tonight I have a Stamp Club meeting here and should really be preparing my room but instead, I decided to get challenged with a card challenge. But, I couldn’t just pick one so I did three!

This week’s Technique Challenge on SCS is paper pleating. This is an awesome little extra you can add to a card if you want extra depth and texture.

This week’s Mojo Monday sketch was AWESOME and I knew I wanted to do that one.

AND…this week’s Color Throwdown challenge was very challenging so I thought I’d throw that one into the mix as well.

I started with a 5 1/2 x 5 1/2 Kraft card base and layered it with Pink Passion. I then pleated a piece of old Notebook designer paper in Kraft stripes and adhered to a black layer. I added two black brads to the outer corners as well.

Along the seam of the folded DSP, I added a strip of Pink Passion and some black gingham ribbon.

I then took a different piece of Notebook DSP and stamped the skull from Just Jawing in black ink. I stamped it again on some Pink Passion cardstock and cut out the heart shaped eyes. I also stamped the bow on some Kraft cardstock and cut it out and added it with a dimensional.

I used one of the stars from the Anchored rub ons and adhered it to some Kraft cardstock and then punched it out with the small star punch. I punched out a large star in Pink Passion and put the two together.

I stamped the salutation from Just Jawing in Whisper White craft ink to finish it off.

I realize as I’m typing this that I didn’t use any glitter, which I usually use with this set, but you know what? I don’t think I will. I like it just as is!

16 thoughts on “Rockin’ the Challenges

  1. What a cool stamp and awesome card! Thanks for playing!!!

  2. Wow…a triple challenge card and it’s absolutely wonderful! I love it!! You rocked all 3 challenges!!

  3. I’m not really crazy about this set, but you really did a great job with this card.

  4. OMW!!! I never have liked this set, I have to admit, but this does ROCK!!! What a fun way to combine the challenges! Of course, your work is always stupendous!!!
    LeAnne

  5. FABULOUS design! What a perfect set of stamps to use with these colors! It works and ROCKS! Thanks for playing the Throwdown!

  6. What a fun color combination for this stamped image! Love your design!

  7. Love it! And great job on the awesome challenge trifecta!! 🙂

  8. Great card! I’m glad to finally meet someone who creates a card out 2 or more challenges!

  9. Carrie, This card ROCKS!!! I love the layers of kraft, and all the pink

  10. Love it! What a perfect image for this color combo! Fantastic card! So glad you played the CTD!

  11. Great card! Love the pleats. Haven’t tried this technique yet; but I think I’m going to have to!

  12. This is just too cute! Love the colors. Thanks for playing! 🙂

  13. I have to be honest, this is not my favourite set… but you did a great job, and yes the paper pleating looks nice.
    Greetings,
    Ilse

  14. It is a wonderful card… love it all the way… the color combo is awesome!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

