Artistic Avenger

Thinking of a Friend

7 Comments

img_5518

Kristina Werner’s Colour Challenge this week was a great one! Baja Breeze, Old Olive, Pumpkin Pie and Chocolate Chip. Probably most of my favourite SU colours. I had some amazing ideas but they just weren’t coming together.

Then, I got news that a very close family friend lost his battle with cancer just a few days ago. He was a very dear friend of my parents for over 30 years and recently, since his diagnosis, we’d gotten a chance to really get to know him as he stayed with my Mom and Dad when he was in town for his hospital treatments (they live in a small rural community). His wife is a wonderful strong woman and, along with their daughter, are grieving this wonderful man. So, I decided to make a card to honour him.

I started with a Baja Breeze base and then layered it with Chocolate Chip. I used two different patterns from the Green Tea DSP and across the seam added a strip of Pumpkin Pie cardstock and 5/8″ Chocolate grosgrain. I really didn’t want too much Pumpkin Pie in this card, so I just let the strip show through very little.

I’ve really started liking this layout that I call “clustering” where you take lots of different elements and put them all together to form a focal piece. In this case, I cut out two sizes of flower from the Green Tea DSP and layered them with a dimensional and added a flat pearl from the Pretties kit to the centre. I then added two felt flowers with Rhinestone brads.

For the salutation, I used Thinking of Father and my good ol’ stamp-a-ma-jig to get the words just so and then punched them out with a small oval punch. It is layered on a large oval in Chocolate. I then punched a 1/16″ hole and tied a little bit of linen thread through for interest.

Lastly, to balance the cluster area, I added a half of a 1/2″ circle and a silver brad.

I am really digging the inside finishing on cards these days, so I did that too:

img_5520

I added a Chocolate Chip layer and then a layer of Whisper White and stamped one of the flowers from Inspired by Nature in Baja Breeze.

Thanks for stopping by today. Remember, your loved ones are special – make sure you let them know how much.

7 thoughts on “Thinking of a Friend

  1. Beautiful job Carrie – love it!

  2. Love your card! So pretty! Sorry about the loss of your friend. thanks for commenting on my blog too! πŸ™‚
    Elizabeth

  3. love the flowers well done with the challenge

  4. This is just lovely. All of the flowers really work well together. I know it will be appreciated!

  5. Your card is simply beautiful! I just love the way your blossoms turned out! πŸ˜€

  6. Fabulous card! Love the different textures of all the flowers …

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

