Artistic Avenger

Looking toward a New Year

11 Comments

img_5495-copy

A New Year….a new challenge. This week on Kristina Werner’s blog the colour inspiration challenge was to use Rose Red, Pretty In Pink, Old Olive and Whisper White. This is a combo that I LOVE!

I knew I wanted to use Puns from the Past so I grabbed it and got stumped immediately. I liked the colour combo with a baby girl card so I decided to use the little buggy image.

I dove into my cardstock and found this Pretty In Pink card base already scored so I decided that the card would be 3″ x 6″. I ran two strips of designer paper along the front of the card and added a strip of white cardstock that had been punched with my scallop edge punch and 1/16″ hole punch.

Along the very top, I added a rub on from the Cherished (retired) rub ons that looked kinda like stitching.

For the image piece, I embossed the buggy on white cardstock using clear embossing powder. I then sponged Old Olive ink over the embossed image. I then mounted it on Rose Red cardstock.

I needed a little something else so I stamped the heart trio from the Love You Much stamp set and punched it out with the heart punch. I adhered it on with a little Pretty in Pink button. I also used the salutation from Nursery Necessities and coloured each word with a marker of coordinating colour.

img_5496

On the inside, I added some Rose Red DSP along a bottom fold up piece (about 2″) and added Old Olive brads to either side. I closed the pocket with some sticky strip. I then made a little card to slide inside of white and olive cardstock. I punched a 1/8″ hole through the upper left corner and tied in some pink gingham ribbon and added the small heart from the heart punch in the Love You Much bundle.

Stay tuned over the next few days for great samples from the Love You Much bundle – all samples you could make at a FREE class with me!

11 thoughts on “Looking toward a New Year

  1. This is so pretty! Love the layout and cute embellishments!

  2. Wow, this card is amazing! Happy New Year!!!!!

  3. Gorgeous card! Love the inside detail! Congrats on top 15 too!

  4. beautifully done, carrie! congrats on making the top 15!

  5. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT! It’s absolutely adorable!

  6. very pretty card! Congrats on top 15!

  7. Conrats! Love the card… Inside is a great surprise!

    Hugs
    Brooke

  8. This has to be one of the cutest baby cards I have ever seen!

  9. What a clever card! Love the resist. Great use of an under appreciate set!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

