Artistic Avenger

Bejewelled Holiday Wishes

1 Comment

img_5464-copy

This card is a total departure from my normal style but I was inspired. That is one good thing about the snow (and living at the bottom of two hills that you can’t drive up when there is a big snowfall). The other day I walked my kids to school (the only way they’d get there) and had a whole day to create. It has been so long since I’ve been able to do that and, although I think I only got 2 or 3 projects done in 6 hours, I feel rejuevinated!

I decided to use a group of colours I’d call “jewel tones” – Real Red, Taken with Teal, Elegant Eggplant, More Mustard, Kiwi Kiss – these are actually the colours on my Christmas tree! Okay, lets start from the base and work forward – there are lots of layers here!

The base is Kiwi Kiss, the next layer is Taken with Teal. I added two red brads to the upper corners on this layer. Next, I’ve layered More Mustard and Elegant Eggplant. I used my Ticket Corner Punch on the upper corners and my Corner Rounder punch on the two lower corners.

The large swirl from Baroque Motifs was embossed on the Eggplant layer using detail gold EP. Below that I added two 1/2″ strips of Kiwi Kiss and added some More Mustard grosgrain ribbon to both. Below that I embossed a row from All Scallops and punched it out with my scallop edge punch.

Okay, only two more things!

The top medallion – I embossed the medallion in gold twice, once on Kiwi cardstock and once on white. I cut the Kiwi one out just outside the dots and the white one just inside so they’d layer nicely. I then took my markers and coloured in the medallion to coordinate with the colours of the card. I wanted to add a Rhinestone Brad to the centre but it was silver. So, I took the jewel out of the centre and embossed the outer silver ring in gold and then put the jewel back in.

Lastly, the greeting – I punched out  a Designer Label in Taken with Teal and then a 1″ circle of Elegant Eggplant. I used my Versamarker to use just the ‘peace’ from the Peace/Love/Joy stamp from All Holidays. I punched it out with the large oval punch.

If you’ve made it this far, good for you!Thanks for sticking with me.

Now here is what my desk looked like afterward a creative afternoon (this was just after making this card!)

img_5461

One thought on “Bejewelled Holiday Wishes

  1. Carrie, I really like the color combination. It’s not one I would ever think of for Christmas but it totally works!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

