Artistic Avenger

Happy D-irthday!

2 Comments

img_5469-copy

Today is the birthday of a friend of mine. He lives far away and I was not nearly organized enough to send a card in good time so, next best thing – post one on my blog!

When trying to figure out what to make (it needed to be somewhat impressive) I tried to imagine words that came to mind when thinking of him. This may not sound like a very masculine description but I thought … “bubbly”! So I set out with bubbles in mind when putting this all together.

I started with a piece of Junior Varsity designer paper and took my colour scheme from that – Old Olive, Bashful Blue and So Saffron. I added below that piece a layer of Whisper White, Old Olive and then Bashful Blue cardstock base.

I orginally just scalloped the top edge but then I decided to do something a wee bit more and took my 1/4″ circle punch and punched out the scallops. I then cut my card base down to 11 x 4″ (took 1/4″ off) so the open circles could hang over the edge and the card would still remain an A2 size card.

I used the greeting rub on from the Summer Days rub ons and put it on a piece of Junior Varsity DSP. I punched it out with the wide oval punch and adhered two Designer Label punch pieces to the back just so you could see the ticket part and behind that I added some Bashful Blue Taffeta.

More balance was needed to the card so I punched out a 1 1/4″ circle in the top left and added a clear button backed with, yes, another piece of Junior Varsity DSP.

Did I do one more step? Yes I did….check it out below….

img_5470-copy

I dabbed a wee bit of Crystal Effects on every Old Olive dot on the DSP. It really pops in real life!

Sending warm and bubbly birthday wishes!

2 thoughts on “Happy D-irthday!

  1. Bubbly, huh? After a couple Mt Dews that sounds about right. 🙂

    I love the card, thank you! I hope to see you at Leadership.

  2. Love the CE on the dots! I noticed it right away in the first photo.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

