Artistic Avenger

Dear Dad…a colour challenge

6 Comments

img_5466-copy

This week’s Color Challenge from Kristina Werner was AWESOME! These are probably my most fave SU colours right now. And, I am so happy to be drawn to a challenge that makes me think of something other than a holiday card (I love them yes, but I’m happy for a bit of a break!).

The colours we were to use this week were Chocolate Chip, Close to Cocoa, Baja Breeze, So Saffron and Very Vanilla.

The size of this card is 5″ x 5″ and the base is Chocolate Chip textured cardstock and then I added a layer of So Saffron. As I knew I wanted to make this a masculine card, I looked for some Baja DSP that had a masculine pattern. I decided to use a plaid piece from the Muirfield Designer Paper set I then layered that on some Baja cardstock and onto a piece of Very Vanilla.

I stamped the paisley piece from the Wanted stamp set in Baja on the vanilla cardstock – I stamped this off before to ensure a very light pattern.

I added a piece of 5/8″ chocolate grosgrain over the seams of paper and added two Vanilla Brads from the Hodgepodge Hardware.

On the far right, I stamped the tie from Holiday Blitz and cut it out. I mounted them with dimensionals onto 1″ circles and then onto 1 1/4″ circles. I stamped the “dear dad” also from Holiday Blitz in Chocolate Chip craft ink and embossed with clear EP.

Because the textured cardstock is not as sturdy as regular cardstock, I added a layer of vanilla on the inside of the card to write on – it is also stamped with a few little ties in the corner (not that you can see them!).

Stay tuned tomorrow when I’ll show you how to make an envelope to fit this card!

6 thoughts on “Dear Dad…a colour challenge

  1. Love the layout on this card.. it looks great! thanks for sharing, Pam

  2. Oh my gosh…I love this manly card!

  3. What a fab man card! I really like it, I always struggle with cards for men. Might have to card lift this idea đŸ™‚

  4. I love your layout, and the DSP is a perfect choice!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

