Artistic Avenger

Fun with Decor Elements

5 Comments

I decided to jump right in with the Decor Elements this month and boy am I glad I did! I recently made two projects that I’d love to share with you all.

img_5356-copy

My cousin and her husband always put on a great day of gingerbread cookie decorating just before the holidays and I wanted to make her something to take as a thank you. I used the medium sized decor element and backed it with some Ski Slope (I think) designer paper. It looked good but I wanted a hint of colour. So, I cut out a circle of Riding Hood Red and attached it to the inside of the glass with two mini glue dots.

I then tied some double stitched Riding Hood Red grosgrain and, voila! Then…..

img_5365-copy

I took advantage of being on Mexico time (getting up 2 hours earlier than normal) and sat down the other day with this amazing Decor Element. The size I used is medium. I got this frame at Walmart. Was it easy? You bet! However, getting those dots off the transfer sheet are a bit of a chore, just press REALLY hard.

I used pieces of chipboard and covered them with Ski Slope designer paper and then added the decor numbers. Lastly, as I wanted them to look like they were hanging (although they are affixed with velcro) I added a loop of Old Olive 5/8″ grosgrain behind each one.

I have the extra numbers in a little holder below:

img_5368-copy

5 thoughts on “Fun with Decor Elements

  1. These are both fabulous! I love how you made the jingle bell red on the first one and the green dp background really makes it all “pop”. Love your storage idea too for the “days” until they are the one to go up!

    I wish I had bought some of these earlier!

  2. Love the addition of the colored DSP and cardstock!

  3. Great use of the Decor Elements. Did you put the Jingle all the Way on the glass? It looks like it has dimension.

  4. These are so great. I really like the gift frame you made. What a special gift for a special time of year.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

