Artistic Avenger

Simple Stamping, Part II

4 Comments

This is the other card I taught at my beginners class the other day. My focus on this card was two-step stamping and using various cutting tools, ie. punches, Coluzzle, Cutter kit. Here is what we did:

First, we cut out a large circle in Old Olive using my Coluzzle. We adhered it to the front of the Baja Breeze card and cut the excess using our paper trimmer.

We used the stamp set Happiness Always to do the “two-step”. This was a great lesson and a reminder to me of how great this technique really is. We then added a button to the centre of the flower. In this case we used a Ruby Red one and in the class we did tie in some linen thread (naked buttons are not good!).

We then tied on some Chocolate Chip grosgrain ribbon and, to accent the knot, we punched out a half of a 3/4″ circle and adhered that piece over the knot using dimensionals.

At first I was worried that this was just too simple but sometimes need to remind myself that simple is good and beautiful and a much better way to start stamping!

For the final step, we used our Stamp-A-Ma-Jig to stamp a salutation in Chocolate Chip ink.

4 thoughts on “Simple Stamping, Part II

  1. Great card! I like the coluzze layer.

  2. This looks like it covered a lot of the stuff that we take for granted once we have been stamping for a little while.

  3. Very cute. I too forget that simple can be beautiful. I love the simple curled edges, great touch!

  4. Simple is good but in this case, simple is great! Love the card, Carrie!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

