Artistic Avenger

Fun with my Brayer

21 Comments

I’ve been lurking on SCS looking at all the amazing skylines and horizons that Michelle Zindorf does. She is amazing! So, I decided to try one for myself!

This card is really quite simple.

I tore a strip of scrap paper and put it over the bottom of the whisper white cardstock. I also punched a circle out and adhere it in the “moon” position.

I first brayered over with Bashful Blue, then Brocade Blue and then Bordering Blue. I still need to work on my colour variation but its not bad. I then sponged some Night of Navy just above the snow line.

I sponged some Bashful blue over part of the moon so it didn’t look so stark as well.

I stamped the tree from Mr. Twigster in Basic Black and coloured the ornaments in Real Red. I added a bit of “snow” using my White Gel Pen and then stamped “merry christmas” from All Holidays. Tied on some Red 5/8″ grosgrain and mounted the piece on black and then Bordering Blue.

Simple really….(okay, I’m not showing you my first two attempts…..)

21 thoughts on “Fun with my Brayer

  1. Hi!
    I have also been trying to learn Michelle Z. way of brayering and making beautiful art work!! You have done a great job here and I just want to congratulate you for trying it and not giving up – I think you have the idea now. I didn’t have some of the colours I needed yet so my try didn’t turn out as well. I can hardly wait to do some more of it.
    Keep on with the great work!
    Candy

  2. Beautiful…simple, yet elegant with just a hint of ‘pazazzz’. 🙂

  3. Gorgeous! I’ve just placed an order with SU including a brayer. I can’t wait to try these.

  4. You did a great job. I love the shading on the Moon.
    Wonderful!

  5. Absolutely stunning!!! I have to try one of those!
    Beautiful!!!

  6. I am a big Michelle Zindorf fan, and you did a fantastic job with this! Great color choices and good job!

  7. I would love to get this card in the mail this year for Christmas!!!! ; )

  8. This is so gorgeous. The colours are fantastic.

  9. This is flippin gorgeous!! I just might have to CASE it for a Christmas card workshop in November…now off to read the tutorial!

  10. Your card is beautiful, i have been trying to master the brayer, but i haven’t quite mastered it yet.
    great colors on your card.
    smallcity

  11. Oh my! I *heart* this!! So cute!! Great job on the brayering…I’m workin’ on it, still haven’t mastered quite completely. 😉

  12. This is just beautiful! Since I use the stampin’ spots, I layer the color right on the brayer.

  13. This is a beautiful card – you have inspired me to get out my brayer and try it again. This card is simply AMAZING!

  14. You did a great job on this creation! Keepem’ !

    Char in So Cal

  15. That was supposed to read:

    Keepem’ comin’!

    I can’t seem to type today LOL.

    Char in So Cal

  16. Beautiful – and thanks for being honest and letting us know that it took more than one try to get it right 😉

  17. Oh My…how gorgeous is that? Great job, I love it and would be thrilled to receive one for Christmas.

  18. Love this card! I just bought a brayer and was in need of some inspiration. Thanks!

  19. Oh man, I am totally CASEing this bad boy! Well, it won’t be a total CASE ‘cuz I don’t have Mr. Twigster, but it’ll be close. Totally awesome card. You’ve nailed the background!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

