Artistic Avenger

3D Wednesday

9 Comments

This week over at 3D Design Challenge, we’ve got a great challenge and a great sponsor, Daily Window Bags.

Daily Window was super generous and donated bags for us to design, this is the Urban Sport Tote. Check out the 3DDC blog – you could win this bag!

For my part of this challenge, I decided to make a great new mom/diaper bag. I pulled out some pieces of chipboard I received at a past SU event (I can’t remember which one!) as a prize and found that they fit the space just perfectly.

So what did I do exactly? Let’s see….

I adhered some Le Jardin (retired) designer paper to the chipboard piece using Tombow multi adhesive and sanded the edges. I then cut out a top note with my Sizzix Big Shot using Always Artichoke cardstock. I stamped it with the Paisley background as well with Artichoke Ink.

I used the Sizzix again and the GoGo boots alphabet to make the ‘bundle of joy’ saying. I used Artichoke, Bashful Blue, So Saffron and Very Vanilla cardstock. I stamped the Paisley background on the Very Vanilla letters to give them a bit of oomph.

I had all these black and white photos of Owen when he was a baby, so I cute one out and adhered it off to the side. I used some of the shapes from Nursery Necessities and made a little vignette of star/moon/saying to the left of the photo. Let’s look at this a little closer up, shall we?

I added a bit of moss gingham ribbon to act as a mock hanger and added a couple of buttons and knots of ribbon to give more of a 3D effect.

I also made a matching tag using the same colours and a chipboard star.

This project would be great also if you punched two holes on the top, added eyelets and tied another chipboard piece to the back – it would be a great gift for a new dad to put in his office.

9 thoughts on “3D Wednesday

  1. Wonderful work. I love the idea of something for Dad too.

  2. This turned out so stinkin’ cute Carrie! I LOVE it!!

  3. Too cute for words! I clicked on their link & love all of their bags! Thanks sooooo much for sharing this info with us. I think I will be placing an order for a few bags. What can I say I’m a “bag” lady, in the good sense. LOL!
    I can use them to promote my 2 home based business with slipping a Stampin’ Up! or Home & Garden Party mini brochure or scrap something related to generate questions.
    Thanks Carrie,
    Ann 🙂
    Ann

  4. Love it!!!!!
    Is that my buddy Owen????
    😉

  5. Carrie – love the new challenge site. And I love this project. I have 2 big baskets full of 3d projects that i want to complete – I can’t wait to try one of your challenges. Ali

  6. This turned out really cute!

  7. Very cute – I love this bag.

  8. Such a cute bag! As a new (again) mom, that is something I’d love to get! Almost makes me need to buy the Big Shot!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

