Artistic Avenger

Setting Sail with 2S4Y

12 Comments

This week, Laura has a fantastic sketch up on 2Sketches4You.

I love linear design and this sketch did not disappoint. I tried very hard not to alter the sketch but I did turn it on it’s side.

So, what have I done here? Well, I started with Creamy Caramel card base and made a layer of Basic Black. On this layer I added a strip of Ruby Red cardstock which I stamped with Itty Bitty Backgrounds and distressed and reverse paper pierced.

I rolled the Matey wheel on some Naturals Ivory cardstock and watercoloured using my aquapainters and various ink colours. I sponged all the edges and even spritzed some Chocolate chip ink on with my colour spritzer tool.

I punched the left side of the watercoloured piece with my spiral punch and added some black grosgrain, just ’cause.

I then stamped the boat from Ahoy Matey on some scrap cardstock and watercoloured it and then made two more sails on some white cardstock and layered them with dimensionals.

I added a dashed piece of rub ons from the A Perfect Day rub ons and also a little salutation and some Riding Hood Red double stitched ribbon.

Thanks for another great sketch, Laura! And thank you to a different Laura for loaning me this set! I hope you enjoyed receiving this card today as my thank you.

12 thoughts on “Setting Sail with 2S4Y

  1. What a fun card! I love it:)
    Laura

  2. gorgeous card for the sketch – a true work of art
    Love
    kath
    xxxxx

  3. What a fantastic use of that set. I always saw it as sort of limited, but now I am looking with fresh eyes.
    Thanks for sharing your persepctive with us.

  4. What a super card. I love it. I like SU.
    Eveline.

  5. This is adorable! What a fun card.

  6. Great card Carrie! I love that stamp set and haven’t used it in a while…may have to get it out. Great interpretation of the sketch this week.

  7. Oh, how cute. Lovely take on the sketch.

  8. This is fantastic! Just terrific!

  9. omg that is fantastic! great job!

  10. Thank you Carrie! I did love the card. Looking forward to next month….

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

